Friday, Apr. 08, 2005

The Silence is Deafening

They replaced my hard drive and returned all my files. Everything seemed to be working okay�until I tried to listen to my music.

ALL OF MY MUSIC FILES ARE GONE!!!

I almost had a breakdown. How can I work without my music? A lot of people here like to work in complete silence for 8 hours straight. Two minutes of complete silence starts to drive me nuts and makes me lose any focus that I might have.

I mean, it�s not really too big of a deal. I can always just bring in my CDs one day and re-upload them. But some of the stuff I had saved on my computer were from CDs that were stolen from me when some fucktarts broke into my car. Luckily, I had uploaded them before they were stolen, but I never got around to making hard copies. Now, they are forever lost (until I suck it up and buy them over again).


I had another long night last night. Again, I went to bed at 4:30.

I met up with E and we went to this Indian restaurant/bar. Our friend, Deeta, is the Events Planner and she throws these little shindigs with different specials every Thursday night. Last night, the special was complimentary �sakitinis.� They didn�t sound too tempting to me, but they tasted really good. They had sour apple ones and watermelon ones.

The entertainment last night was flamenco dancers and Baliwood movies projected onto the ceiling. I though that they should have had some Indian dancers doing the Baliwood moves instead of flamenco, but this is Miami. E and I were completely entranced by the movie. They didn�t have the sound on so we were trying to figure out the plot based entirely on the facial expressions and the dance moves. We were completely confused because the lead actress would be in love with one guy, then she would be dancing on a mountain top with another guy, then she�d frolic on the beach with a 3rd guy, then she was back to the original guy. So we decided that she must have been a slut and the title of the movie was Jezebel or something along that theme. Finally, one of the guys asked us if we liked the movie. We told him we loved it but couldn�t figure out what was going on because she was with a different guy in every scene. He told us that he lead actress was Miss universe a couple years ago and I since then, she�s become huge in Baliwood. The movie we were watching was actually a compilation of all her musical numbers from all her movies. And every movie has 13 musical numbers. Then is all made sense: the non-stop dancing, the constant costume and location changes, and the different men.

I have always loved Baliwood movies. In high school, I remembered watching them on the public access channel late at night. I had absolutely no clue what was going on, but I love musicals and all the dancing and bright clothes and big casts caught my attention every time and I would watch for hours. If you want to check out what it�s like watch �The Guru� which is an American movie, but in the middle of the scenes, they�ll break out with the Baliwood style dance numbers. And, it�s hilarious.


Let me go back to Deeta because there�s some interesting stuff about her. E, Deeta, and I have all known each other since middle school. They are pretty much 2 of the 3 people that from high school that I still talk to. Deeta and I also ended up at the same college. Deeta never wanted to go to the school we went to, but her parents told her that if she went there, they would foot the entire bill and if she went somewhere else, she would have to pay for school on her own. Mind you, our school is about $34,000 a year. Yeah, her parents had their own agenda.

They wanted her to go to this school because it has one of the highest Indian populations. Deeta was a huge Tup@c fan and every guy she dated in high school was straight out of the hood. Her parents did not like this one bit and wanted her to find a nice Indian boy to court her and marry her. So they give her this ultimatum. She ends up going to the school because she sure has hell couldn�t afford anything on her own.

Spring semester of freshman year, I get this call from my mother who wants to know the last time I saw Deeta. As it turns out, Deeta�s mom hadn�t heard from her in over a month and was going through her address book to call all her friends. Also, the school had returned a dorm payment to her attached to a letter that basically said, �why are you paying for a dorm room for someone who isn�t even enrolled at this school?�

Apparently Deeta had withdrawn herself from school and moved in with her boyfriend who she was planning on marrying. She didn�t bother to tell her parents any of this or that she was several months pregnant. Two days before that phone call, I ran into her and she told me everything, but I wasn�t about to tell her mother. That really wasn�t my place. What�s even more screwed up is that earlier that day, her mom found out she was pregnant because Deeta�s doctor�s office called the wrong number (her parent�s home number) to remind her of an appointment. Can you imagine finding out that your only daughter is a couple of months pregnant from a stranger and not knowing where she was living with your soon to be grandchild? It was all very scandolishious.


Last night, I kept seeing guys that looked like Big Nimble everywhere that I turned. It was kinda strange. I don�t know what it�s supposed to mean. Is my subconscious trying to tell me something?

summerroll at 3:53 p.m.

previous | next