Thursday, Nov. 17, 2005

Silence

My voice is gone. Completely. I can't do anything but whisper.

Yesterday, I taught, or rather yelled over, 6th graders for 4 hours. Then I taught, or rather yelled over, 11th graders for 3 hours. By the time I got home, my kitty didn't even recognize my voice and would run everytime I croaked at her. It kinda hurt my feelings.

I'm going to try to get an appointment with my doctor either today or tomorrow. Not for my throat, but for my ear. I think I have a large wax build-up in my left ear that needs to be removed. Everytime I go to sleep, when I lay on my left side, that ear just cloggs right up and everything is muffled. When I wake up in the morning, I tug on it, and it unclogs, but it's just getting super annoying. Plus, I'm kinda getting paranoid that I might go def like Foxy Brown, who apparently had some viral ear infection she didn't know about and woke up one morning completely deaf. That is some scary shit.

Anyway, I've had my ears cleaned twice before and it kinda feels like there's water shooting into your brain. And it makes you feel a wee bit woozy for a couple seconds. But it's kinda cool to see the junk they pull out of there. And gross.

The book fair is this weekend. I'm so happy. I love being able to get tons of books for super cheap. Plus, since the hurricane, I've pretty much read everything and I need some new stuff. I actually just bought a new book on Tuesday for 2 bucks called "Germs: Biological Weapons and America's Secret War". Looks interesting, especially to a big science dork like me.

(Evlynann, if you're reading this, turn on your notes so that I can leave you a comment like "thanks for adding me" and "science papers don't have to be boring. My suggestion would be to put the personal first and then back it up with the research. Hope this helps!")

summerroll at 8:30 a.m.

previous | next