Thursday, Jan. 19, 2006

Wine=Sleepy

I�m a little tipsy from a couple glasses of wine on an empty stomach at the Welcome (cocktail) Reception at the Museum that we had for the participants at our workshop. Tomorrow starts the beginning of the 14+ hour days for the next 2 days.

I did my required mingling, but the wine definitely helped out. Now I am sleepy. Wine always has that effect on me.

I�m watching the OC right now, and every time I see it, I wonder why Mischa Barton still has a job. She is one of the Worst. Actresses. Ever!

In that Anniversary entry I wrote last week, I revealed many things that I have never told another living soul before. It�s weird how we all feel so comfortable showing our true selves to people over the net, but not to people we know in our real lives. Why is that?

For me, it�s the anonymity. Y�all don�t know me personally, or the people/situations that I write about, so I don�t think twice about opening up about certain things. Plus, since I don�t have a super close friend to hash things out with, this is my outlet to get ALL my thoughts out, no matter how harsh, how bitter, how insensitive, how cruel, how true. It�s actually a relief to relax, relate, relief, and get all that stuff off my chest. I don�t know what everyone else�s take on that is, but I�d sure like to find out.

What I did find out today though, was that I have to go to the Museum�s annual gala next Saturday. A black-tie gala. I told them I couldn�t go unless my outfit was purchased for me. I own no dresses, and I have no money to purchase a gown that I would probably only wear once. My boss said that she�d see what she could do. Hey, a free $200 dress and free dinner and drinks? I�m sold! I more excited to go shopping with the kids from our program who get to go. It�ll be so nice to see them all spruced up fancily. Is that even a word? Anyway, we�ll see what develops in the next week.

It�s definitely now time for bed.

summerroll at 10:07 p.m.

previous | next