Thursday, Jan. 26, 2006

Mmmmm. Goat Cheese!

I was almost the owner of a new doggie yesterday.

Last week, a couple of people who work in the wildlife center at the Museum found a stray dog. It was the cutest thing! It was a Doberman mixed with some small dog, about 1 year old, and 25-30 pounds. She was trained and knew sit and stay and down, and wouldn�t pee inside the building, and was the cutest, sweetest dog ever. If I had had the time last week, I would have inquired about her then. But the first chance I had was yesterday, and by then, they�d already found someone to take her. I don�t know how my little kitty would have dealt with a new friend. She definitely doesn�t get along with other cats, or people for that matter, so I don�t know how she would cope with a dog invading her personal space.

I�ve been thinking about getting another pet foe the past few months but I wasn�t sure if I wanted a kitten or a puppy. Plus, if it was a puppy, I needed to make sure it wouldn�t grow too large, and I don�t think I would have had the time to train it. So this doggie would have been perfect. Oh well.

On the subject of pets, my kitty is in heat again. I never got her spayed because I felt bad doing it, plus, she�s a completely inside cat. There�s no way she�s getting preggers unless it�s through immaculate conception, considering she�s deathly afraid of the door and all things dealing with outside. But I�m getting tired of her walking around with her ass high up in the air and trying to rub all up on me and on my furniture. But like I said, I feel bad ripping out her feminine parts, although I know it�s really common. Someone called me a bad pet owner when I told them my kitty wasn�t fixed. I would be a bad pet owner if I let her roam free like a streetwalker, getting knocked up every couple months. That really pissed me off. Oh well. So I think I�ll take her to the county pet place that does the deed for free, cause I sure as hell am not paying $50+ for it.

Last night I had a great dinner: chili, � pomegranate, and a glass of wine. The pomegranate was soooooo good. It�s one of my favorite fruits. I don�t buy it often because it�s usually so expensive. And when you�re used to picking things off a tree in your backyard, there�s no way you�ll pay $5/pound. But when I saw that the price was reduced to 2 for $5, I jumped. And I�m glad.

The chili was Campbell�s Chunky Firehouse chili, which was supposed to be hot and spicy. It wasn�t. I had to re-season it with lots of garlic, lots of cayenne pepper, and some seasoned salt. The new chili was awesome. I ate it with pita bread. It was almost as awesome as last night�s V. Mars.

The wine knocked my ass out around 10:45. I slept really well.

Dinner tonight: Goat cheese and spinach pizza, plus another glass off white zinfandel. Yum!

summerroll at 6:10 p.m.

previous | next