Friday, Jan. 27, 2006

Tomorrow will suck, but bring on my tax refund!

Everyone always laughed at me because I saved every single receipt, bill, check I ever get. But that stuff came in handy tonight.

I just worked on my tax return. I was able to claim/deduct over $3700 in medical expenses because I saved everything! All those birth control pills and other prescriptions, dentists appointments, doctors appointments, eye doctors and contact lenses, and what not really added up. I was quite shocked to see the final number even though I know I payed for all those things. I guess you don't really think of it when you're paying in bits and pieces.

So as it stands right now, I'm up in the $700s for my refund. It might decrease once I add the wages from Job#2 (I haven't gotten my W-2 from them yet). Either way, it's going to be a nice chunk of change considering I had to pay last year while everyone else was taking vacation with theirs. And boy, can I use that money.

So, the Nyquil didn't quite work last night. I fell asleep 20 minutes after I took it, but I woke up at 2 all stuffed up. I should have been out for the rest of the night. Maybe my body is becoming resistant to the drugs. It does take about 3-4 500mg tylenol to get rid of any pain/headaches I have. Which is why I don't bother taking them anymore because I'd rather deal with a headache than have an overdose or something.

So this gala business is going to be a pain in my ass. The people in charge were very sneaky by putting the people in my department who are chaperoning our kids, who they "invited", on a list to work at the gala. That's right work. It's bad enough that we weren't told that we had to attend this thing until last Saturday. Then to find out that we were volunteered to work at it....I wanted to punch someone. They had the gall to send out an email with the list yesterday. However, several people on the list had not been told prior or had not been included in on the email, like myself. So I had to hear from someone else that I was responsible for working tables at the gala, when my intial impression was that I was just there as a chaperone. It pissed me off. And the fact that I just know I won't feel good tomorrow, makes it worse because I was planning on just sitting there if I was indeed a little sick. But now? Yeah right. What's worse is that the reason they trying to sucker employees into this is that they did some poor planning and didn't even bother to let the staff know when the gala was taking place and what they needed help with. If they had done that, they would have had several people actually volunteer to do the things they're forcing us to do. But they didn't and those who usually volunteer made other plans. And guess who gets stuck doing a bunch of shit?

I just wanted this week and weekend to be easy and relaxing and drama free, especially after last weekend and the weeks leading up to it. And this gala was just supposed to be a fun time for our kids, who would never get the chance to dress up in real gowns/tux and schmooze with the rich and wealthy, while Nande and I chaperoned and watched and drank free wine and ate a good dinner. Goddamn it, at the least we deserved that after all the work we did! But no. I don't know why I expected this to be any different from any other Museum function where Nande and I end up working when it's not even our project. And the icing on the cake: I'll be "working" for over 14 hours tomorrow because I still have to do my real job during the day.

Those fuckers.

summerroll at 8:49 p.m.

previous | next