Wednesday, Feb. 08, 2006

Oh baby, baby

I am awesome. Ok, just a little.

I won Evil's translated lyrics contest, 6 out of 8. And what I didn't know was that winner would get a care package. That's awesome because I never win anything! I always get close, but someone is always better me.

I guess my obsessive song listening came in handy for something.

Only in Miami:
A guy, unhappy with the deal he'd got on his SUV purchase the night before, returned to the car dealership the next day. When they wouldn't give him another deal, he drove his car through the glass window into the showroom of the dealership, then set the SUV on fire, subsequently causing over $1 million in damage. All witnesses said that he did all of this "calmly" and acted like nothing had happened afterward, as he calmly walked away down the street. When the cops found him, still walking, a couple of blocks down the road, he surrendered willingly but told the cops to just "Kill me, kill me."

I swear people down here have a special brand crazy not found anywhere else.

Not really excited about the Grammy's tonight. I'll probably watch the first hour, since I love seeing the opening performances, before I swtich over to V. Mars. I didn't even realize the Grammy's were this week until yesterday. I'm just not as into awards shows as I was in the past.

The whole Br!tney Spears situation is weird. Yes, she's not the "brightest" tool in shed, but first-time mothers tend to make huge mistakes. I can't forget when my uncle's wife almost suffocated their first born because she was holding the poor child too tightly to her chest, or when she fed this same child a cashew and she went into anaphylactic shock because, as it turned out, she was allergic to nuts. Unfortunately, the first child is always the guniea pig and hopefully, mothers, or parents in general, learn from all their first child mistakes and don't repeat them. With all that said, if she really was running from the paparazzi, fine. We all know that those people do get very aggressive at times and don't care about respecting personal space. However, once she got in the car and drove off, she should have handed the Federl!ne spawn over to whoever was sitting in the pasenger seat so that she could focu on driving safely.

What I hate most about all these Britney stories is that they keep saying, "She's only 24, she doesn't know any better." I call Bullshit! on that one. Britney is a month older than me, and I know a lot more than she does. So do most of my friends. She can't help it that she's a flipping idiota, or that her parents championed her going to dance class and auditions over learning. And hey, she's making more money than I am. Maybe she is smarter. Damn you parents for telling me that education would get me good things in life!

I am so off topic. What I was getting at is that we don't know what really happened (although we can agree that she was doing somethign stupid) and that the world shouldn't judge the rest of the 20 somethings based on the moronic actions of a few that happen to be in the spotlight. .

It's now way past time for me to get ready for work.

summerroll at 9:51 a.m.

previous | next