Tuesday, Aug. 22, 2006

Two steps forward, two steps back

I took my car to get serviced today. It was supposed to cost me $160, at the most $200. I walked out of there with a fucking $860 bill!

And it could have been worse.

Luckily, my car is certified-preowned, so it still has the original warranty, plus an additional 2 years. But almost $900 in repairs? Fucking broken CV joints.

This is exactly what I needed. More bills. Especially when I FINALLY paid off all my credit cards last month. Bitch!

--

Monday morning, I recieved a call at 7:30 am and was notified that I had an interview at 2:30 that afternoon.

Apparently, they mailed out letters last week to all the top contenders (who even does that anymore - that's what email is for). I got my letter this afternoon.

I spent the next 4 hours I could researching everything about the organization and what they do, which is basically environmental education focused mostly on the Evergl@des.

Let me just say that I nailed that fucking interview. I answered every question perfectly, except for one. And what's funny is that I saw the answer to that question at the end of my researching that morning, but I was so sick of reading that I was like, "fuck it, they're not going to ask me that anyway."

Regardless, the interview was spectactular. Everyone was nodding to my answers and smiling as they took notes. Everyone except the HR lady. Is it a requirement that most HR people are weird?

So we'll see what happens. It seemed like a neat place to work. The only drawback is that it would be an hour drive for me there and back, and that's with no traffic. I'd be spending 2.5 hours a day in my car (have you seen how people in Miami drive? It's scary!) and racking up a hell of a gas bill. But I think it'd be worth it to escape the evil that is the Museum.

--

My vacation is still chugging along. And I'm still not doing anything besides working out and reading.

I'm glad that I was able to use this vacation in order to get my ass in gear with exercising. Last week, I worked out everyday except for Friday (who works out on Fridays?) and Sunday (because I was a bit dehydrated from drinking the night before). I didn't think I would be able to convince myself to go running at 7:00 am every morning on my vacation, but I did, which means I can convince myself to do it during working days too. And it's kind of a nice feeling being able to feel all of your muscles, but not in an achey way, but a good way.

I just hope I keep it up.

I think that's all my updates. Now I'll return to watching the bad reality TV

summerroll at 10:18 p.m.

previous | next