Monday, Mar. 12, 2007

Craziness!

I think I mentioned in my last entry that the last couple of weeks have been a bit crazy me. On top of all the work stuff, I've been having to deal with craziness from the students I work with.

I got this series of text messages:

"How much does an abortion cost?"

"My friend threw up this morning and I'm going with her after school to buy a test but I think she is...don't you need a parental consent?"

"She IS pregnant. She took like 6 tests and they were all positive. She doesn't want to tell her parents."

Luckily, the "friend" that is pregnant is not one of my kids. I advised that she should tell her parents, especially since she has no money and the guy she slept with, a colleg student, has no clue that she is 16. And I also told my student that I hoped she learns through her friend's mistake because her friend slept with that guy after knowing him for 2 days WITHOUT PROTECTION! She should be lucky that all she came away with was a baby.

And you'd think that would be it, but later on that same week, I got some AIM messages that really worried me.

A little backstory first: One of my girls, let's call her Dee, has made a complete 180 turn in the past couple months. She was always a good girl, but not too perfect, with a good head on her shoulders. And then she turned 18 and I guess that made her feel that since she's an "adult" now, she can do whatever the hell she wants. So she starts dressing all sexy-ish, which wasn't so bad and started talking more about boys. One day we kind of notice that she won't take phone calls in front of us and she starts acting all secretive and shit. Come to find out that she's "talking to" 3 guys, one 22, one 23, and one 26! And not only is she talking to them, she's engaging in phone sex with them and making arrangements to meet with them. At least two of the guys she met online.

Back to the AIM messages.

I get a frantic message from one of my girls about how I wouldn't believe what Dee did the night before the camping trip.

Well, Dee had a date that night. With a 23 year old that she met at her school's Valentine's dance. (Why a 23yo would be at a high school dance as a guest and not a chaperone is beyond me.) She invited him to the house to meet and to have him interrogated by the mother. They left the house and were, as far as her mother was concerned, on the way to the movies.

Instead of going to the movies, he pulls off the road and asks her to play truth or dare. She agrees. He tells her that if she doesn't do the dare, she'd have to get out wherever they were and find her way back home. She agrees. He dares her to give him head. She agrees, but won't do it in the car, as it is her first time. He says, "how bout I take you to a motel." She says okay. And I think you know where it goes from there.

I was horrified! I don't care that she wanted to give that guy a bl0w j0b. The thing that bothered me was that she willingly went to a motel with some guy that she didn't know and didn't even bother to tell anyone,where she was. As far as every one was concerned, they were at the movies.

And she had no clue what that guy had in mind. What if he had planned all along to get her in this motel. What if after she had taken care of him, he wanted to push things further or force her to do other things. What if he already had the motel room and his friends were all there waiting for him to bring back some unsuspecting young girl. What if he was crazy and had planned on killing her. What bothers me the most is that she didn't think about any of these things at all and basically put her life in danger without a second thought. Luckily for her, all he wanted was his d!ck sucked and he didn't try anything else. But she doesn't know this guy from jack and practically knows nothing about him or how his mind works.

And it worries that she would do something so stupid like that and not even call one of her friends to give them a heads up, a, "hey, I'm gonna be at this place with that guy. I'll tell you about it later."

But I know I have to remember that they are kids and that they'll make stupid mistakes from time to time. But something like that is a colossal one and I'm just glad that she came out of it safe. Even still, knowing that she's messing around with 26 year olds online and trying to meet up to them make me queasy, because obviously her brain is not functioning properly.

I don't even know how you people out there with actual kids handle stuff like this. These aren't even my flesh and blood and I'm out of my mind.

Aaaaaaaah! I always used to joke that I didn't want kids, but now I'm seriously considering it.

--

In other news:

I think that's it....for now at least.


summerroll at 10:33.

previous | next