Tuesday, Mar. 27, 2007

Babbling like a brook.

I signed my contract yesterday! Yaaaaaaaaaay! And I start on the 9th.

I can't express how excited I am. I feel bad for leaving my kids, as crazy as they are, but it is definitely time for me to move on. At least I take pleasure in telling them, when they do ask me why I am leaving, that it is not because of them, but because of my coworkers. The funny things is, when I do say that, they nod in full understanding of what I mean.

The other sad thing is that Al just started working at the Museum full time. He was looking forward to us working together on an every day basis instead of just once a week. I was too! I told him that at least we have a full week together.

He's so funny because he acts like we'll never see each other again. Silly boy. He's my closest friend.

He's spent the past two Saturday nights at my place. Everyone who knows that thinks that we spent the both nights having sex. We really spent both nights drinking and talking about everything from evolutionary debates to depression to spousal abuse to our one night of "passion" till 5 am Sunday morning. It was quite incredbile.

I've never had someone in my life who I could share absolute EVERYTHING with and not have to worry about what they will think of me afterwards or if they will judge. It's cool to have a friend like that, and unfortunately I haven't had many that fit that description.

Needless to say, we won't lose touch.

So my last day at the Museum is this Saturday, although I'm technically working through till the 7th because I'll be chaperoning the week long college tour (booo! - I hate this trip but they're going to give me two weeks pay for 1 week of work since they're desparate).

I'm hoping to make to make a clean escape, no parties or cake or cards. I hate when those fake ass people at the Museum show up to "good-bye and good luck!" cake parties ONLY for the cake because they've never said more than two words to the person leaving. So pathetic.

Did I mention that one of my benefits at my new job is free lunch....everyday!

Oh yeah, and tuition reimbursement for grad school.

But free food!?!?! What could be better.

summerroll at 8:06 p.m.

previous | next