Thursday, Jul. 26, 2007

Mmmm, Mmmm, Good

In the past 36 hours, I've had 5 of these:

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

It�s called a Frita. It's a hamburger done Cuban style: spice patty, served on a bun with lettuce, onion, shoestring fries, and secret sauce. It looks disgusting, but it�s so damn good. And to my credit, the ones I had were half the size of this one.

There's one more sitting in my refrigerator, and it's all I can do not to run into the kitchen and devour it. The only reason I haven't yet is that my stomach is on the verge of trouble and I just know that if I eat anything else tonight, especially another friggin frita. I�ll probably end up sleeping on the toilet.

And I don't know if this is a blessing or a curse, but I just learned that El Rey de Las Fritas (the King of Fritas for you spanish impaired) is only two blocks from my house!

Damn you Mr. B@dia for introducing me to that tantalizing devil.

(The founder and owner of that Spice Company invited my students to tour the factory. He gave us free spice samples and for lunch, he ordered us 50 fritas. Small enough for 2 per person. How I managed to ingest almost half a dozen is beyond me.)

I must now go curl myself up into the fetal position.

summerroll at 10:16 p.m.

previous | next