Monday, Aug. 06, 2007

Prepare Yourself For a Bitch Fest


Next week, I'm taking a trip to here.


I've been looking forward to this trip since February and really, it's been the one thing to get me through the summer. One, because it's the friggin Dry T0rtugas, and two, it will be basically one of the only trips that I have not gone on with family or with work. just a group of friends.


But now, I don't even feel like going.


The whole thing is just becoming a hassle, and everyone is making me feel like I'm acting like a bitch because I don't agree with changing things last minute, especially when details were set months ago.


So in February, 3 of us decided that we wanted to go on this trip. Other people heard about it and became interested. So we sent out an email at the end of the month giving everyone the general details so that we could get an idea of who really wanted to go. After that inital email we had about 5 people comfirm and a couple others who weren't sure, which was fine. So we set a firm date and started making plans. And every couple weeks, a reminder email was sent for the unsure ones, with a deadline of the end of March for a yay or nay. By then we were up to 6.


Then, after we had our final number, someone (one of the twins, of course) who had never replied to any of the emails decided she wanted to go, but only if we changed the date. I'm sorry, but that shit pissed me off. She had over 2 months to reply with anything, and she didn't bother until she found out one of the people who's asses she liked to kiss was going. So all of a sudden she wans to go, and we must change the date we set months ago to accomodate her.


Of course, after I shared my displeasure with this, I was told I was getting upset for no reason because it was just a week later. And I told them, it's not even about the date change, it's the principle. And the fact that she waited until the last minute. Because if she had replied to the original email with the dates she could go, like the original 5 had done, we could have figured out a date from that. But no, we had to cater to her and I was being a bitch. Was I wrong?


I don't think so, especially now that she dropped out of the trip anyway, again at the last minute (two weeks ago), after we had booked the hotel rooms and the spots on the ferry.


Then, one of the original three planners decided to pull out this weekend. Like what the fuck. It's been six fucking months! He has not pulled out because of any emergency or any last minute stuff; he pulled out because he failed to ask his boss (his dad) for time off, and refuses to. Like what the hell.


So now, a trip that has had 8 people for the past few months had been reduced to 6.


Luckily we were able to find one guy to fill one of those spots. So now we're up to seven.


But then, an hour or so ago, I got a phone call telling me that I should cancel one of the hotel rooms, that I booked on my credit card, since we now have 7 people instead of 8. That makes no sense. On top of that, I asked before I booked the hotel, again months ago, if they wanted to go with one or two. They said two. Also, since we're only staying for one night, we have to pay up front, which meant I had to pay upfront since it was on my credit. And no one has bothered to offer me money for it yet, but now they want to dump one room to save money that I have already paid.


But I'm getting upset for no reason?


Fuck it. Like I said up top, I don't feel like going anymore.


I know that I'm over-reacting right now because I'm pissed. But I don't think it's fair that just because I don't agree with last minute changes and I say so, that I'm being pegged as a bitch. I like to know what my plans are and that my plans are solidified before I leave town. I definitely always allow a little wiggle room, because surprises are always to be expected. And I was told, "well this isn't last minute". When the trip is a week away, it is fucking last minute!


Alright, that's enough bitching for now. <Releases Sigh> Just needed to get that out.

summerroll at 10:11 p.m.

previous | next