Sunday, Oct. 16, 2005

This is the world we live in

Dinner at Mort0n�s Friday night was great. I had Colossal, 4-inch shrimp and Cajun prime rib with mashed potatoes/gravy (my favorite side). The prime rib itself was incredible; it was marinated in Cajun seasoning for 80 hours prior to being served on my plate. There was so much food that I had to bring it home and I had 2-extra dinners out of it. Why is it that leftovers taste so much better?

Saturday was a fieldtrip day for our program. I decided to take our kids bowling. It was greatness. And it was one of the more successful, if not the most successful fieldtrips. The kids all enjoyed themselves. None of them were acting up or were bored. They really got into it and had a good time. And all the mentors enjoyed themselves too.

I, being the master bowler that I am, came away with a score of 67, tying for last place. Although I did have to put up the bumpers half-way through the game, on the last frame, I bowled a spare and then a strike (without the bumpers) in the extra one, thereby redeeming myself.

That night, the Museum, held a mini Film Festival. Museum staff was free and there was an open bar. Me and a couple other Museum staff decided to attend. It was a cool experience.

We got to drink at our job, and see some of our coworkers drunk off their asses. It was particularly funny to watch people who normally wouldn�t talk to us or who we knew didn�t like us, have conversations with us just because they were tanked. Extremely entertaining.

Then there were the movies in the festival. They were odd. Well the 2 of the 3 I saw were odd, but I bet the last one was as well. Instead of watching the 3rd movie, I chose to get in line for another drink.

Then it was time for the Laser Light Show. Now that was AWESOMENESS. I�d never seen one before. And this one was set to the music of Pink Floyd. All the swirling lights and colors, and it helped that I was a bit tipsy.

And of course, being the dork that I am, I spent half the time trying to figure out how the 3-D glasses worked. I guess I haven�t seen a 3-D movie in a long time, because from what I remember of the glasses back in the day was that one lens was green and the other red. These lenses were both clear, however. Upon further inspection, I realized that each had tiny red and green filters in them, which gave 6-D effect instead of just 3. It was neat.

Today, I watched the Merlin mini-series on Sci-Fi. Not horror, but I liked it. I don�t know how close it was to the actual Arthur tales, but it was a very well-done movie. And that�s all I got on that.

Disturbed�s new album is incredible. Several of the songs address the Bush�s �war�. There is even a song directed toward Bush himself: �I won't let them Deify you. They view you as the new messiah. Deify you. Renew belief in some demented man.� What is up with these people who think that Bush will bring in the new age of humankind. Are they blind to the shit that�s going on? I personally always stay clear of political debates, I hardly ever mention anything politics related in here, but this is insane. I firmly do believe that that man will be the demise of this country. Back to my original thought, if you like that type of music or just want to hear something new, check them out.

Someone asked me how things were with Gus last night. I told them I didn�t know, which is the truth. I haven�t heard from in ages. And as aknockout pointed out in her entry from a couple days ago, if they don�t call, they�re not interested. SO maybe he�s just not interested anymore. I don�t know. I�m not a fucking mind reader.

Plus, it�s something I just don�t want to have to deal with right now. I�ve been so stressed out lately and I don�t think I�ve ever been really stressed before without being depressed. The depression was always what set that feeling off. And although I was slightly depressed a couple weeks ago, I�m not now. It�s just plain old stress; being exhausted, having ten million things to deal with like mortgages, new car, money issues, etc. I�m getting new things thrown at me every day and I don�t think I can afford to be boggled down with extra stuff like, does he/doesn�t he like me, why won�t he call, blah, blah, blah. It would all make me crazy. So for now, I�m not worrying about it. If he calls he calls, if he doesn�t he doesn�t. Like I�ve said before, this happens between us often. If this happens to be the last time, I�ll just save the breakdown for later.

summerroll at 9:42 p.m.

previous | next