Monday, Jun. 26, 2006

If I can make it there....

I got a random phone call today from someone who heard something about Gus and I from one of the people we were out with last weekend. This person basically wanted to know "what's going on" with us.

I'm one of those people who hate other people knowing my business (other people besides the 20 or so of you strangers who read this crap), especially if I didn't tell them. If I wanted you to know, I would tell you.

So this chick calls out of the blue just to get all up in my bui'ness. I told her when I find out what's going on, then I might let you know what's going.

Despite the irritation I get from this girl when I speak to her, it was a pretty good question to ask because I myself don't even know what the hell is going on between us.

I know that we're not at that seriously dating stage again. It's a little too soon for that. But I'd like to think that we were more than just friends, you know?

He did drive all the way down here on Friday to hand out with me at Happy Hour for a bit. Then on Saturday, he went to a work event and I don't know if he thought twice about not inviting me. Who knows. We've always been a weird couple.

In other news, our summer program is running smoothly. We haven't had a single problem or issue. This is all due to one thing: no Jay-W. It's quite surprising how she always managed to cause so much drama and stir up so much shit when she wasn't doing a whole hell of a lot. And to think, she was getting paid $10k more than I was. How fucked up is that!

And now, my bosses are seeing her for what she really is. Because all the crap she used to pull on me, lying and shit, she's doing to other people. But where as I didn't have the time to defend myself or tattle on her because I was doing both her and my job, the other people have the opportunity to let the bosses in on her game. And she's paying for it. They've even been talking about letting her go at the end of the fiscal year (Sept. 30). Long overdue if you ask me.

Another good thing to come out of this is that I get a free, all expenses paid trip to New York, New York!! I'm so fucking ecstatic! I've only heard nothing but awesome things, and everyone says it's the one place to visit.

The only thing I'm not too thrilled about is that we're going the week before September 11th. I just get butteflies in my stomach everytime I think about it. I know that I'm probably worried too much, but I just can't shake the feeling.

The other thing is that this is cutting in to my vacation time. I still have all 10 of my paid vaca days, all 5 of my sick days, plus over 16 days of comp time (since the museum is too cheap to pay overtime). All of which I need to take before October (all except the sick days, but even so, I'll lose half of them if I don't use any, which sucks). I was going to do something cheap like the Keys or the Bahamas in August and them visit my friend, Anne, in DC in September (funny thing is that we almost ended up in NY at the same time, but she's going the week later). But now, I think I might extend my cheap trip, maybe do both the Keys and the Bahamas, and then just spend a week at home doing my favorite past time - chilling on my couch. Who knows. We'll see what happens.

That's my update for now. I'll keep y'all updated on any other Gustavo developments.

summerroll at 8:27 p.m.

previous | next