Thursday, Jan. 17, 2008

Balls and Low-Ropes

Tomorrow, our office is doing a low-ropes course as a "bonding" experience.

It should be interesting, although I'm not really looking forward to the outfit my boss might wear. He usually dresses inappropriately on a normal basis, i.e. underarm0ur to parent functions or ridiculously tight jeans that even women shouldn't wear. I really don't want to see any unsightly bulges, especially if there will be harnesses and ropes pulled tightly in that area. Ugh. I might have nightmares tonight.

Today, M@deline Albr!ght came to campus to address the students. This is the 2nd high profile person this school has pulled in in the last couple months. I don't remember if I mentioned it before, but in October, G0rbachev spoke.

Anyway, Ms. Secret@ry of St@te was quite impressive. She came across as smart, personable, and funny. And the kids, suprisingly, really enjoyed her talk (although I'm sure they don't remember anything). She made me chuckle when she said "There is a special place in hell for women who don't help other women." This was in response to a student question regarding how to get more women in the upper ranks of government. And she said that there was definitely a power struggle between men and women who compete for the same respect, but that the majority of the problem was from women who put each other down or always try to get each other to fail.

Truer words have never been spoken.

summerroll at 6:10 p.m.

previous | next