Wednesday, Jan. 19, 2005

Birthday

My birthday was uneventful. Saturday night, I wanted to go out with a couple of friends and get a couple of drinks around midnight. Of course, everyone cancelled on me except for one person (someone I'm not even that close to anyway), but I was glad he could go with me. Needless to say, it was one of the most miserable nights I have ever had. I tried to have fun, but my mood was already shot.

On Sunday, my birthday, I woke up with a fever (thanks to the crazy ups-and-downs of the temperature here in Miami) and a scratchy throat (courtesy of all the smokers in Miami). My family started calling me at 9:00 to wish me Happy Birthday. As much as I dislike my family sometimes, we are still really close and they made me feel better.

When I got up to my mom's house, she and my sister took me to Benihana's. All I can say was WOW! I'd never been there before, but it was incredible. I like that they cook in front of you, but our chef looked like he was so bored and that he would rather be getting teeth pulled than making me chicken fried rice, steak, shrimp, and lobster for my birthday. But that was okay, because I had a good time and my belly got really full. I didn't even eat anything else for the rest of the day (we ate at 1:00). After lunch, my mom and sister took me to the movies (Meet the Fockers...very funny), then we went back to the house and watched more movies while my mom took care of me as my fever got a bit higher.

All in all, besides being sick and having a shitty night, I had a decent time, especially since my family left the obnoxiousness for another day.

In other news, right before I left my mom's to drive back to my house, she told me that my father had left a message for me. Father...hmmm, that name seems so familiar. I have not heard one word from that man in the past 3 and a half years, so this is very interesting.

summerroll at 9:57 a.m.

previous | next