Wednesday, Jan. 26, 2005

Rock Star

For the longest time, I have wanted to learn how to play the bass. I absolutely love music and whenever I listen to a song, the first thing my ears always pick up on is the bass line. About 6 months ago, I decided I was going to buy myself a bass and teach myself how to play. But, I would never actually make the effort to go buy one. The most I did was Google basses on line to see the average cost.

Well, Monday morning, after my dentist appointment, I decided to stop at B@rnes & Nobel to buy a notebook. I had completely forgotten that there was a Guit@r Center in the same shopping plaza. I decided to go in and look at basses and get some information. Long story short, I bought myself a bass. It was one of those packages that came with the bass, amplifier, carrying case, headphones, cables, and a beginner�s instructional video. All for $300, which is nice considering the actual bass itself is $250.

I am so excited. Yesterday, I popped in the video before and after work and learned the basics. I even learned my first bass line, which is a classic blues rift. I practiced for about 3 hours last night and I can now play the riff once through without messing up. All I have to do now is get it up to speed.

Right now, my hands are killing me. I guess I need to get used to the hand positioning and I need to start stretching my hands and fingers before and after I practice. I�m hoping that I can teach myself to play. I tried to find some resources online, but there isn�t much. Looks like I�ll be returning to the bookstore to find some instructional books. If not, I guess I�ll try to find someone to teach me.

I feel so fucking cool. I just want to walk around with my bass and drop bass lines when the mood calls for it. Well, once I learn how to play well. Then I�ll become the rock star I�ve been destined to become. Shirley Manson move over (I love her). At least I now have something else to occupy my time.

So, after writing about Gus the other day, I went back and found all my journal entries from this past summer and reread them. This summer was one of the best summer�s I�ve ever had. I was so happy and I honestly cannot remember a time before that when I was that happy. I�ve always been in some sort of funk. There were times when I�ve been completely miserable and times when I�ve been not down, but not happy. But this past summer, I was just happy. All good thoughts, good feelings, and no depression. It�s funny how one person can change the entire scheme of your life. Well, at least for a bit, anyway. I think I�m going to move those entries over here into one entry, once I�ve reformatted and re-edited them.

Even though I�m sad now, it�s nice to have those good times to look back on every now and then. Plus, I have my bass to give me joy now. In a matter of time I know I�ll be awesome. Ha.

summerroll at 10:15 a.m.

previous | next