Wednesday, Apr. 13, 2005

Avoiding Doing Actual Work

Last night, I found and read my old journal from October 2003 to this January. Man was I depressed during those 2 years. After reading that, it just made me sad to think of all the things I went through with different people. But I guess it was all for the best because I�m in such a better place right now. It�s true that when you hit the most possible low that you can, the only way for you to go is upward, pull yourself out, and wash off all the dirt and mess.


Still trying to get people for our career fair. But as of noon, we reached our goal of getting 10 people to commit. Considering we contacted over 70 people, that is a really small number, but large enough for a good turnout. I hope that if any of you out there ever get invited to a career fair, please go, if you have the time. This is the second year I have had to organize one and the hardest part is not only getting people to come, but convincing them that it is worth their time to come. The schools that our kids go to don�t even encourage college or careers, so we have to do a lot of that on our own. And when the professionals in the community don�t want to offer their services, it just makes it all the more difficult.

That evil lady that sent me the email yesterday has not responded to my reply. I hope that I put her in her place, but people like her probably always think they�re right even when others point out that they are utterly and completely wrong.


We had our benefits fair this morning. It�s where the employees at the Museum get a chance to signup for or change the benefits that they receive. I didn�t signup for anything new. I get health insurance, dental, accidental insurance (since I work with kids and go on a lot of trips), and a retirement plan. I had absolutely no intention of taking any more money away from my paycheck. The retirement plan alone takes $80 bi-weekly. The first paycheck I got after I signed up for that plan hurt my heart so deeply. But I figure it�ll all pay off in the long run. The only bad thing is that they realized that they weren�t taking my dental payment out (although I have been using it quite frequently), so now I�m down an extra $20 a month. Fuckers. I would have never noticed it if it was included in my first paycheck like it should have been.

One of my coworkers was trying to convince me to switch from an HMO to a PPO. To be honest, I don�t know the friggin difference between them. However, I have heard a lot of bad things about HMOs so I choose to stay away from them. I don�t care if PPO costs a little bit extra.

I�ve noticed that this same coworker is also always trying to work the system. He always says that this and that can be a tax write-off, and he tries to use out tax-free exempt card for personal purchases, and we went on our last trip, he somehow managed for the Museum to �owe� him money. I don�t know. People like that bother me because they are always planning a scheme and you never know when that scheme is going to involve you.


Right now, instead of working, I�m uploading as many of my songs as I can back onto my work computer. I have this MP3 CD that I made from my personal computer before it got stolen. It has over 300 songs on it. Of course, the place where the name of the song should be had both the name and artist, and the space for the artist is empty. I hate that. And of course, I feel compelled to go through each and every single one and correct it. So, I guess I really won�t be doing any other work today. Oh well. It�s only Wednesday; I still have tomorrow and Friday to do actual �work�. Anyway, it�s not my fault that they made me waste 3 hours at the benefits fair because I would have used that 3 hours to do some work before I started doing other shit. Instead, I�m only going to do on other shit.

summerroll at 1:14 p.m.

previous | next