Tuesday, May. 17, 2005

Sick, But Thinking About Prom

May 16, 2005 11:38 am

I woke up this morning feeling like ass. My sinuses are throbbing, my nose is running, my throat is itchy, and it�s all accompanied by slimy, yellowish-greenish goo. How the hell did I manage to get sick? My goddamned A/C isn�t even working!

And on that topic, Handyman, who said he would stop by �first thing in the morning�, has not even called. I hate when people do that. Especially when I told him that it didn�t have to be today, as long as it was looked at sometime this week. And he said, �first thing in the morning.� Why don�t people know how to pick up a phone and call to say that they will be late or that they can�t come? It�s so simple.

Alright. Enough bitching and moaning. I�m gonna take a nap and hope that when I awake my head is a little clearer.


2:47 pm

I couldn�t even get a decent nap thanks to the construction across the street. All that banging and shit felt like it was going on 10 inches from my ears. It kept me in and out of consciousness. But I do feel somewhat better.


4:49 pm

Handyman finally came by to look at my A/C. Apparently, since I haven�t used the unit in a while, the compressor got stuck with leaves and other shit. He unstuck it and now
my house is slowly cooling down. Yay!


Everyone down here is all in a frenzy about Senior Prom. Half my seniors had their Prom this past Saturday, and the rest of them are having Prom this Saturday.

I decided to pull out my journal from waaaay back in 1999 to relive my Prom and the days leading up to it. Here are snippets from some of those journal entries.

12 Days Before Prom (BP)
School is almost over and it�s that time of year when Prom rolls around. But guess what, I�m not going. Prom activities and such are really not my scene. I�d feel uncomfortable, I�d be bored, and I doubt I�d have a good time. But I know that if I stay home, I�ll be a miserable little shit and I�d probably start crying like the dork I am. I don�t know what to do. Even if I don�t go to prom, I still want to go to the after parties. Here�s the problem, I Don�t Drive!! {I didn�t get my license until I was 18.} Anyone that I would get a ride with is going to prom, so it looks like I�m stuck at home. As usual. I never feel like I can fit in anywhere. That�s why I feel like I can�t go to Prom. I won�t fit in at all. Everyone would look good, and I�ll still look ugly and like a bum. {I was a ball of sunshine in High School.}

8 Days BP
I�m still not going to Prom. I�m feeling a little better than I did the last time I wrote. Fine, I�m still a little bitter. I think what upset me the most is that no one asked me and even when my friends {who didn�t have dates either} started making plans, I wasn�t really included in any of them. That hurt the most.

1 Day BP
Tomorrow is Prom. I�m still not going. I need to find something to do tomorrow or I will go crazy. I don�t even want to hang out at anyone�s house because they�ll all be getting ready and it will make me depressed. Prom is really not my thing {when in doubt, rationalize, rationalize, rationalize}, but when it seems as if you�re the only one left behind, it kinda feels horrible. What can I do about it now??

Later on that day:
It�s 3:16 and as of 3rd period today, I�m going to prom. Guess I won�t be bored after all.

{My friend Lishia, who is one of the few people I am still friends with from high school, convinced me to go. I only had about $8 on me, so she not only gave me whatever money she had, but borrowed money from other people so that I could by the very last Prom ticket. It was probably one of the nicest things anyone had ever done for me.

When my mom picked me up that afternoon, I told her that I was going and she took me to buy a dress and jewelry. I found an awesome dress for $23.

My dates ended up being 2 of my other girlfriends who were also dateless. The next day, we were able to find someone with extra space in his limo who was willing to let us ride for free since his dad had paid for it.}

After all that, I ended up at Prom for a whopping 15 minutes. We showed up late and left early. Then we headed off to the after party on the Beach, which didn�t end until 7 in the morning. According to my journal, �It was WILD.� I�m glad I went, if even for only 15 minutes, cause now I can say, �I went to my Prom.� I don�t think I could have taken more than 15 minutes though; I didn�t really like a lot of people from High School. So, I guess it all worked out in the end.

summerroll at 10:14 a.m.

previous | next