Sunday, Jul. 10, 2005

Coming up with titles are hard

Yesterday, I had no power for over 15 hours. The lights did not come back on until after 7:30 last night. Apparently, a tornado touched down the night before and completely eviserated the main power line, shutting down the electricity for two and a half blocks.

When I got home yesterday afternoon, around five, I had to light a dozen candles (there all all these tall trees surrounding our house, which is nice because it keeps the house cool, but it also keeps it dark) and I sat on my couch reading my Discover magazine in the dark.

About 50% of the food in my freezer/fridge survived. When I get home tonight, I'll have to sort through what can be kept and what must go. I'm just glad that I was too lazy to go food shopping this past week because that would have been $100+ down the drain. Yay for laziness!


In my Discover magazine, it stated that there is now proof to suggest that environmental advisors to the President purposely left things out of the report on the Global Warming in an attempt to make it seem less of a threat and not an issue the country should worry about. As shocking as that is, it is so not suprising. Especially since the goverment has more important things to worry about like stealing oil from the Middle East and stopping people who love each other from getting married simply because they're in a same-sex relationship. The government pisses me off. There's so much that the government could be doing to help the environment, to help the thousands of kids in this country alone that are homeless or starving, and tons of other things. But instead, they continue to spend billions on a war that was announced to be over a year ago. And everyday, in Miami at least, there's another family opening their front doors to a Military officer there to tell them that there child died for his country. Fuck you Dubya, and Fuck your entire Bush clan.


I have been practicing my bass faithfully every day. Even if it is only for a couple minutes. I'm hoping that I start getting good real soon. Who knew that that Kiss song was so complex. It's definitely taking me a while to get the hang of the rhythm.

When I'm alone, I play so well. I don't fuck up the fingering and I stay in the correct rhythm and pace. As soon as someone else is there, I can't play. My friend asked me to play her a song the other day. I played the first entire song I ever learned on the Bass (Maroon 5's This Love), which I learned way back in Febuary, and which I play damn well. But when I started playing for her, all of a sudden I'm hitting all the wrong notes and messing up the tempo and shit. And earlier that afternoon, before she came over, I was playing it just fine. I guess that just means that I'm not ready for my stage debut yet.

summerroll at 10:12 a.m.

previous | next