Saturday, Sept. 17, 2005

Ups and Downs

I got to sleep this morning around 6:30, woke up at 9:00.

I asked Nandy to pick me up on her way so that I didn't have to drive my banged up car to the Museum. I'm going to have to drive it on Monday, but it works fine, just not asthetically pleasing so to speak.

So last night:

After trying deparately to leave a party for about 2 hours (my friends were being obnoxious drunks and didn't want to go because they were too busy flirting even though we all had to work the next day), we finally leave. I hadn't had a drink since about midnight and it was now almost 4am.

I pick up my car at my friend's house and start my 10 minute drive home. For whatever reason, I decided to take a different route home.

I was coming up on a stoplight and as I approached the intersection, it turned yellow. I realized that I probably didn't have enough stopping time to stop before it turned red and that I was going to be in the intersection. But I slowed down anyway just in case there was another car zooming through.

There was. It looked like she didn't even slow down as she was coming up to her redlight and when she saw my light was yellow, just kept going.

Well, we hit. One side of her bumper was hanging off and part of my hood was pushed up.

A security officer called the popo even though the girl and I, after establishing that we were both alright and that our cars were drivable, had decided to settle it ourselves.

The cop comes, I told her that I rolled through the yellow and that I'd take the blame for it. I saw the yellow. And technically, when we hit, my light was red.

Well the cop took forever processing our info. Then when the girl went over to ask if she could call Triple A, the cop got out, put her up agaisnt the car, patted her down, cuffed her,and put her in the back seat.

I watched this in shock and thought to myself, "oh shit. I'm going to jail. I'm gonna be spending the weekend in jail. Oh, fuck!"

The cop then starts to walk toward me.

Or at least that's what I thought. But she walked to the other girl's car. She must have seen the "What the FUCK!" look on my face because she said, "Oh, this has nothing to do with the accident. She has a warrant out for her arrest."

The cop continues to do whatever she was doing and another cop pulls up to do a full search on the girl's car.

About 20 minutes after that, I got my ticket and was told I was free to go.

I drove my banged up car home.

I'm just glad that no one was hurt.

I just feel like this is so typical of my life. Something good happens, then something bad. They always come hand in hand.

And now I have to figure out if I'm going to fix my car (which is 10 years old) or go ahead and get another car (whether new or used). The only problem with the second one is where to get the money for it. I just don't know what to do and my family isn't really giving me any advice I can use.

summerroll at 8:51 p.m.

previous | next