Monday, Sept. 19, 2005

And the hits keep coming

Today is shaping up to be a swell day!

I get out of bed early with the intention of avoiding loads of traffic when I took my car to the body shop. Before I left though, I called the shop a friend had recommended to me just to make sure that my car would at least get looked at today and I would have an estimate.

The number was disconnected.

I pulled out my phonebook, less than a year old, and it was the same number. Then I tried to find another place that was close to me. 5 out of the 8 places I called were not operational.

Finally, I find a shop that is up and running and they were willing to give me an estimate without charging me.

I drive over there in my busted up Saturn only to learn that my busted up 95 Saturn would take $3000 to fix! This is only the the hood and the front fender/bumpers. The car itself (before the crash)is probably not even worth $800.

I call my mom just to let her know what I found out but she doesn't have time for me because she's at a restaurant eating breakfast and that's obviously more important than all the shit going on in my life right now.

It really upset me a lot, but I can't say that I was suprised. Nothing in my life has ever mattered to her unless it had something to do with her. I don't even know why I bother or continue to try.

So, I have decided on my own that I will get a new car. Well not a "new" car. New to me. I've already found it .

I've always wanted a Pass@t and I was planning on maybe buying a brand new one next year sometime. I guess it's just going to be sooner than later. I'll just get it financed and use some of my savings for the downpayment.

The only thing is I'll have to wait until after this Tropical Storm/Hurricane that's supposed to hit tonight passes.

summerroll at 2:39 p.m.

previous | next