Thursday, Sept. 29, 2005

Holding on to let them know

Went to the gym again. Did 20 minutes non-stop at a constant speed on the elliptical. I guess being at an extrememly high altitude for 2 weeks really did wonders for my lungs' air capacity. Then I did abs and legs with weights.

I hope that I'll be able to keep up with the visits. I really need to get back in shape.

I miss my flat tummy!


So. One of the girls in my program is preggers. About 3 months. She is 17 and a senior in High Shcool.

I think she was trying to keep it quiet, but that doesn't work with our kids. Things, whether true or not, spread like wildfire.

This hits close to home because my mom had me when she was 17. And this wasn't Miami; it was an island, so basically a really, really small town.

Plus, my mom was from a pretty well to do family. My grandmother was so embarrassed. She even arranged for my mother to have an abortion without my mom knowing.

Needless to say my mom figured out what was going on. She had me and she went back to school. She graduated about 2 years behind her class, but she finished.

The really cool thing is that I have attended every single one of my mom's graduations: High school, Associates Degree, Bachelor's Degree, MBA. And she'll recieve her PhD in a couple months.

As much as my mother pisses me off, she really did manage to pull through her mistakes.

I just hope the girl in my program can do the same. I haven't really sat down and spoken to her one and one, but the first thing we did do was make sure that she was planning on finishing as much of the school year as she can. If she can continue school up until she gives birth and have someone bring her work while she's on "maternity leave", she'll be able to graduate with the rest of her friends and go to college. A girl did it my senior year (the sad thing was that was her second kid...guess she just didn't know about the various types of birth control out there). Anyway, she can do it.

She's a smart girl. I just don't want her to fall into the same trap that these other girls in Miami fall into: they get pregnant young, don't finish school, because they don't have a diploma they can't get good jobs, because they already have one kid they continue to have unprotected sex and get 2 more before they're 18. Not a good situation. For anyone.

Nothing else to talk about.

Oooh...I get to make nutrient agar plates tomorrow so that my class can grow bacteria colonies...coolness.


summerroll at 8:18 p.m.

previous | next