Tuesday, Oct. 11, 2005

Manlove

I saw Serenity Sunday night. It was incredible. It was funny, suspensful, sarcastic, and it even had me in tears several time. I really hope it does well enough to warrant a sequal or maybe Scifi can pick it up and do new episodes of Firefly. How I love Joss Whedon (especially since he also loves V.Mars).

Today was an interesting day. I dragged myself out of bed to go to the Museum.

Most of the day, I worked on gathering material for an SAT prep class I have to teach tomorrow night. I hate standardized tests. I did okay on mine. But the only reason I'm teaching this class is because our program doesn't have enough money to pay one of those private test prep companies to come in, like we've done in the past. Unfortunately, of the 28 kids we paid for lat year (at about $800/student), only 4 showed up on a regular basis, so that was a couple thousand down the drain.

But they don't understand why we can't do certain things now like fieldtrips or barbeques. Sometimes they can be so selfish.

Anyway, I'm working on my lesson and my supervisor calls to move our weekly meetin to 1:00. We were in this meeting till 3:30. And when we got out, I was told by one of the other Museum workers that I had a flat.

3.5 years with my ghetto Saturn and I get my first flat within 2 weeks of having my new car.

And of course, the person they sent to fix my flat did not speak a word of English. I felt like I was back in Bolivia. How great it is to live in the Spanish speaking country of Miami.

I did manage to get to the gym again today (I also went yesterday...I'm doing so well). I had a great workout, but I was seriously exhausted when I got home. I slept and woke up in time to watch Nip/Tuck.

I've been so exhausted the past few weeks that I've decided that I need to take a day off. Probably Thursday.

Since I've gotten back from vacation, I've been literally going non-stop. Between the move, my two jobs, working out, people visiting, the car accident, I haven't had time for myself. I need a day where I can just relax, and by relax, I mean sitting/laying on my couch with a huge cup of ice cold water next to me and playing with my kitty. I think she feels neglected the most because I come home and play with her for a few minutes, then I go to sleep.

I need to stop running myself ragged. That's the quickest way to start looking older than you really are and I want to prolong that as long as physically possible.

summerroll at 11:43 p.m.

previous | next