Wednesday, Oct. 19, 2005

Still Pumped

The concert last night was AWESOME. Audioslave is incredible.

They played Audioslave songs, then they played Sound Garden songs, then they played Rage songs, then they did it all over again. It was like seeing 3 bands for the price of one.

And don't even let me get started on Chris Cornell. Damn! They way that man hits those high notes, effortlessly, seamlessly. The way we works a mic stand. The way he wears a pair of jeans. Just Damn! Just the way he carries himself; there was none of that cocky, "I'm a lead singer, rock god" stuff. He was modest, with his shoulders hunched over and head down, yet powerful all at the same time.

And the rest of the band was great as well. I've always thought Rage had the best combo of guitar, bass, and drums...hard pumping, intense; definitely rock, but a little bit of hip-hop thrown in. And I love when you can tell that the band's not bored playing their stuff. They were all getting into it and it made the crowd insane. And for Miami, that's a feat. Usually they all just continue to sit as the songs get more insane, but not this time. I was dancing and jumping and screaming and thrashing and banging my head. And so were the girls I went with, and I know that one of them is usually very reserved and the other one doesn't really like this type of music and came last minute because we had an extra ticket. But they were getting into it too. It was great to feel that vibe from the audience as well as the band. Well, except for the chick next to me who sat on her ass for 95% of the concert. Why were you there lady???

It was greatness. Definitely didn't top the Godsmack/Metallica concert last year, but it was a close second.

summerroll at 9:45 a.m.

previous | next