Thursday, Oct. 20, 2005

My So-Called Life (with flags)

Just found out something interesting.

The first band to play at the Audioslave concert was called 30 Seconds From Mars. They were okay. Nothing too spectacular, but I had heard the name before.

The songs were a little odd, and so was the prancing around the stage with 25 ft tall red flags. Plus, the lead singer, who was the most adamant red flag prancer, kept saying fuck all the time. For example, would say: "Look at you fuckers out there. I wanna fucking see you mosh. Every fucking body get the fuck on your feet and fucking sing along with the fucking song. Fucking yeah!" Then he would start singing and doing pirouttes as he played the guitar. At the end of the concert, he picked up his flag, raised it high, the other band members got in line behind him, with the bass player bringing up the rear with the second flag, and one by one they jumped off the stage and marched to the other end of the area.

We were just like, what the fuck is wrong with these people? It's not like the music sucked, but we were so busy concentrating on what they were doing we didn't really pay attention to the music.

Anyway. One of our kids who was at the concert happened to get back to the bus area (she got a picture with Tom Morello from Audioslave/Rage!). Turned out that the lead singer of 30SFM is none other than......Jared Leto!

Yes, you read that right, Jared Leto; Mr. Jordan Catellano himself! I almost fell off the couch in a fit of laughter when I was told. Jared fucking Leto was the idot prancing around with the red flag all night. And who knew he had a band?

That? Just made the concert even better.

I have an optometrist appointment in about 1.5 hours. I'm wearing my last pair of contacts. I'm hoping to get a new brand because my eyes fucking hate these toric lenses. I want to go back to Acuvue, either the regular ones (which I wore for 5 years, comfortably, despite my astigmatism), or the new Advanced for Astigmatisms. I don't know what it is about these toric lenses; I've tried 2 different brands and both just didn't feel right, in the sense that I could feel the contact once in. With the Acuvues, it's like they disappeared and I like that, because then I don't have to think about it.

Now I'm off to right college recommendation letters.

summerroll at 9:11 a.m.

previous | next