Friday, Nov. 18, 2005

My Tummy Hurts

I went to see my doctor today and the verdict is in: I have shit loads of wax in my ear. She wouldn't flush my ears out because the wax is too hard, so I have to use ear drops to soften it up, and if my ears still clog after a week, then she'll flush them for me.

My doc also gave me some antibiotics for my sinuses. That shit really fucked me up. First of all, it was cherry-banana flavored. Do the people who develop these medicines really think that cherry-banana is a flavor that the American public craves? It was nasty as hell. And it didn't help that I DESPISE banana flavored things. It was like taking a really large and nasty shot.

What made it worse, is that about 20 minutes after I drank it, my stomach started to kill me and I was doubled over at my desk. I reread the insert and it mentioned the side-effects include nausea, stomach pains, diarreah and/or loose stool. I don't know about anyone else, but I'd rather have a sinus infection than cramp, inducing diarreah. I had to leave work and drive home, and I spent the rest of the day between my couch curled up in the fetal position and on the toilet emptying out the entire contents of my small intestines. There is nothing there now, and I don't want to eat anything for fear that it will send me back to my throne.

This is why I hate taking medicine. They either don't work (I firmly believe that most medicines on the markets are just placebos and because you think you're taking something to help, your brain starts imitating the reulsts that you think should happen) or they give youy weird side effects. If you've ever seen any commercials from any prescription drug, at the end there's always the part where they warn you that although you might be taking the drug for erectile dysfunction, the drug might cause damamge to your liver, eradicate all brain function, and stop your heart from beating. It's insanity.

All I know is that I better be well enough tomorrow to go to the Book Fair. I wait for this every year, and I'll be pissed if I have to miss it because of the evil diarreah beast.

summerroll at 8:51 p.m.

previous | next