Saturday, Dec. 17, 2005

Not to mention that when I got home my lovely kitty had peed, not once, but twice, on the kitchen rug!

I decided to take a break from chopping lettuce to do any entry.

Making salad for one-hundred people at 5:00 am is not the way to start a morning, especially after the day I had yesterday. And today is not going to get any better considering I�ll have to pull an all day-er, about 15 hours at work, seeing as how tonight is the Holiday Party for our youth group.

Of course, everything is being done last minute, and although the planning, decorating, etcetera is all supposed to be done the 5 kids on the youth board, myself and Nande, still end up doing all the work because if it is not perfect, we get blamed. For instance, last year, our boss put us on an extremely tight budget, which limited us to finger foods/appetizers, but then complained 3-4 months later that the food that night was cold. That pissed me off, considering that we asked for more money and she turned us down and that no one else offered to help and the 2 of us had to do everything by ourselves.

Yesterday, Nande and I had to do all the shopping for today. We had to hit C0stco and Pub1ix. C0stco is about 20 miles north of the Museum. On the way back, a cop turns on his sirens and lights and is driving 90 mph. This always freaks me out. And as I�ve said a couple entries ago, I hate people who don�t pull over/stop to let ambulances/cops pass. I was in the left lane and the cop was in my same lane. I put on my right blinker and slowed. There was a bus directly to my right and it slowed as well, I made sure that it was stopping, checked my mirrors, and then I proceeded to move into the right lane. At this point, another car that was behind the bus, zoomed around the bus, into the left lane, and then back into the right lane, meaning that when I started into the right lane, all of a sudden this car was there! So I pulled back left to avoid hitting it, but we nicked each other anyway, unbeknownst to both of us, as he continued to zoom on by. Why he was going so fast when there were sirens coming was beyond us. We actually thought for a moment there that the cop might have been chasing that car.

I pulled over to let the cop pass. He passes me, then passes the other car, then decided to stop, get out, and go talk to the car. We heard him tell the other car that he saw me hit them from �a mile and a half away� which was news to us because 1) we didn�t feel anything and 2) the cop was reasonably close behind us, not a mile away. We got out to check and there was a tiny, miniscule inch-long spot right over my wheel where some of their paint rubbed off on my car. I touched it and it came right off on my finger. My favorite part was when the passenger of the other car got out, and pointed at all this damage on the rear bumper that was obviously there before and tried to say that we caused it all.

Anyway, the cop asked me what happened and I told him. And he said how he has to give me a ticket because although I was getting out of his like I should have, I caused an accident. But to me and the other people in my car, the only person not responsible for that accident was me. The cop was going over 90 in a 35 mph zone, which would freak anyone with common sense out. And I was the ONLY car that slowed down to move out of the way. Every other car, sped up and kept on going, which is exactly what the other car did. Yet, I get a fucking ticket saying �CARELESS DRIVER�? Give me a fucking break.

The cop gave the other car a ticket as well, we don�t know what for, and told me that I would have to appear in court, assuring me that he would be there to tell the judge exactly what happened because he saw the whole thing.

The craziest thing though is that, like I said, neither car knew we had been in an �accident�. The only reason we stopped was because we thought the cop was passing, which he was until he changed his mind and decided that the emergency he was on his way to deal with was suddenly not an emergency any more. And certainly wasn�t in a hurry anymore because not only did he take his time writing our lovely tickets, but he had time to make a personal cell phone call, as well as pulling someone else over who had went around his car after he had let us go.

This whole thing pisses me off because in doing the right thing, which I always do, I still get screwed. Every. Fucking. Time. And the assholes out there who are running red lights and stop signs, going 50 over the speed limit, making U-turns in the middle of residential areas, and all the other crazy shit that I have seen, never get any penalties.

It ruined my entire day and I just have a feeling that this day will not go so well either.

summerroll at 6:46 a.m.

previous | next