Sunday, Apr. 30, 2006

I'm famous, y'all!

Wide awake again at 3:30 am. I tried going back to sleep, but it just wasn't happening.

Now I'm watching a Miami V!ce marathon on TV Land. I don't think I realized how bad this show was when I was a kid. And I loved it back then.

I was in the paper today:

BioT Career Fair: For high school students interested in careers in health sciences, environmental science and biotechnology. Speakers include Dr. P, physiologist at the University's human performance lab; Ms. E U, director of the office of HIV/AIDS services at the County health department; and S M, first-year medical student at the School of Medicine; 11 a.m. to 1 p.m., [the Museum], Miami; free. Call [Summer] at 305-xxx-xxxx.

Okay, so I'm just the contact person, but the event I planned was in the paper. That's so cool. Especially since it was a great event.

The 3 Speakers we had (one who wasn't on the list)were absolutely phenomenal. I've never seen our kids actively engaged and listening and asking tons of questions. Usually when we tell them to ask questions, 1-2 kids will say something, just so there aren't crickets in the room. Today? We couldn't get them to shut up. A good problem to have. Our 1.5 hour event turned into 2 hours and 45 minutes. It was wonderful. And considering it was our very last one, I'd say we went out on top.

On the downside, none of our bosses/supervisors showed up. Nand (who helped plan it) and I were pissed.

WLC, our male supervisor (the assistant director, who does shit), took off for a week and a half vacation and told everyone the day before through email. Yet he complains that our department doesn't communicate enough and that he never knows what we are up to.

Jay-F, the big boss, was at the Museum today. However, she only showed up to our event when the food was out, which was before and after the speakers. And when Nand told her it was in the paper, she made some snide remark about how it only brought in 3 extra guests. Bitch. I'd say that was pretty damn good for an event that was supposed to be our kids only. Then, before she took off today she said, "Good job. The event was very organized, great food, and from what I heard, great presentations." Then she chuckled. She couldn't even be bothered to stick her head in for 5-minutes to see what was going on. Well maybe she was busy, you might say, since she is the VP of education. Yeah right. She wasn't doing anything but playing with her kid, who she brings to work with her all the time. But as soon as the food was set up, she had time to pop her head in. Pfft!

Is it no wonder that I'll be looking for another job? I do so much work at that place and people don't give a shit! And the ones who sit on their asses all day are getting paid 10-20k more than me simply because they are 5 years older, not because they are better or smarter than me. It pisses me off. But I guess that's the way of the working world.

I'm off to work on my resume and to continue watching MV. Right now, they're trying to bust a big drug carter...in New York. It's fascinating stuff.

summerroll at 4:00 a.m.

previous | next