Monday, Sept. 18, 2006

If I can make it there.....

I enjoy watching the show Flav0r of L0ve because I enjoy watching stupid people make asses of themselves for the entire world to see. But, I can't stop dry heaving every time one of those girls let Flav stick his tongue down their throats. It's come to the point now that whenever the kissing starts, I have to cover my eyes. Eeeew. And the fact that one of them, the crazy ass New York, would come back to embarrass her self for the second year in a row!?!? She needs to find herself a dignity tree and pick herself some.

--

And on the subject of New York, my trip to NY the previous week was good.

Of course my boss was the last person to board the plane, again. On top of that, she did me so dirty.

We were scheduled to do a presentation on technology at the conference, and as a part of that, were bringing scientific probes (that measure different parameters such as magnetic field, pH, temperature, turbidity, etc) that connect wirelessly to palm pilots. Those were supposed to be her carry-on. The night before our flight, she calls me and asks me to take them as my carry-on, implying that she had too much carry-ons. I didn't mind, because I didn't have one, until I saw that she had no carry-on when she boarded the plane. It bothered me, but whatever, we needed to take them. Once we arrive in NY, she turns to me and says, "Did you have any trouble going through security with the probes." I didn't, but now I'm wondering why she's asking me. Then she goes, "Oh, because I was thinking about it and I thought that the wireless adapters looked a bit like detonators. Hee, hee, hee."

I was in shock. So, she thought they looked like detonators, so instead of her going through the security check with them, she made me go through the check, leaving me vulnerable to possible detainment and a full-cavity search. Fucking cunt! Who the hell does something like that? If she had that concern, she should have told me up front, and together we could have come up with some decision as to whether we should have still taken them or found another way to transport them. But no, let's let Summer take the fall. Luckily, I wasn't stopped or questioned. But on the flight back, I packed them in my suitcase, which I checked, and I think it got a full search because it was the last bag to come through baggage claim. Either way, that incident just cemented for me why I don't like my boss and I vowed to keep my distance from her during the trip.

Thank god for separate hotel rooms! Which, by the way, were awesome! We stayed at the M@rquis M@rriot, right on Times Squ@re and Broadway, and my hotel room looked into the Viacom studios. I almost shed a tear when we had to leave because that was the nicest, most comfortable bed I have EVER had the pleasure of laying in. The bed was so heavenly that whenever I did have some free time, I would often to choose to just sink into the super soft pillows, pulling the comforter up o my chin, instead of going out into the city to sight-see. It was glorious.

But don�t get me wrong. I did get out into the city, eventually. And I loved it!

I mean, there were way too many fucking people, but the City itself is so fucking cool! I love the history within the entire place. I was awestruck at everything; you know everything that I had always only heard about, read about, or saw on TV. So it was neat to see all that stuff first-hand. Things like Times Squ@re, Broadway, the Emp!re State Building, Tiffany�s (which was especially cool since I had finally seen �Breakf@st at Tiffany�s� for the first time the day before I flew out to NY), R@dio City Music Hall, Rockerfe11er Center, Central Park, etc. The only thing I didn�t get to see that I wanted to was Lady Liberty and Ellis Island. I even managed to check out two Museums: The Museum of Natural History (which was way too big, but nice) and the Museum of Sex (awesome place � very interesting).

I definitely have to go back sometime, when I don�t have any other responsibilities like a conference going on and with friends so that we can really take the city by storm. But I�m glad I had the chance to go, for free, and I can�t wait to go back.

The only bad thing was that my friend, Anne, who was supposed to me in NY Friday night (she had a conference the following week, so she decided to fly in early so that we could hang � we haven�t seen each other in over a year), didn�t end up making it. Before her flight on Friday, she got a call from her family informing her that her Grandpa had two, maybe three days to live. So she decided, rightfully, to fly home instead of coming out. And unfortunately, her Grandpa ended up dying early Saturday morning, so she didn�t even get to see him. I felt so bad for her and her family. I haven�t heard from her since that Saturday, and I didn�t want to call out of fear that, knowing my timing, I would call at the wrong time. So I sent her a card earlier this week. It�s so hard to know what the right thing to do or say is in these situations.

To sum this all up, here are things that I learned from my trip:


  1. New Yorkers aren�t as rude as everyone says they are.

  2. Broadway is just the name of a street with a bunch of theaters on it. I had always thought it was the name of a street where there was ONE big theater, also called Broadway. I thought this because of the phrase �I want to be on/dance on/sing on Broadway� which I always assumed meant �be on/dance on/sing on� the stage inside the �Broadway� theater. Silly me.

  3. Everyone who lives in NY is a smoker. Or, at least, it seems that way. It�s fantastic that no one is allowed to smoke inside any of the buildings. I can�t tell you how great it was to leave a bar and not smell like I had been smoking myself. But, everywhere you walk outside, every couple steps, there�s someone under an awning puffing away.

  4. New Yorkers love to wear all black. All of them. But it�s very chic.

  5. Everyone has a dog even though everyone lives in apartments.

  6. You can barely see the position of the sun because all the buildings are so goddamned tall. How do they expect me to orient myself?

All in all, my final verdict on the city: If there was someway to halve the number of people in it and also halve the neon lights/gigantic TV screens, it would be an awesome place. Well, more awesome than it already is.

--

In other news; I realized last week that I have been in my condo for over a year. It�s so weird owning your place. I see things that need fixing or touching up all the time, and in the back of my mind, I�m reminding myself to contact the landlord. But there is none. I am the lord over this condo land, and anything that needs repairing I need to take care of personally. And that kinda sucks in that, �I don�t want this much responsibility� kind of way. But on the other hand, I like the responsibility that this is my place and I can basically do whatever the hell I want; it�s all my call. And not many people my age in this town can say that. So YAY to one year of independence!

And in the more news category, guess who had great sex last night! Yep, it was me. YAY for that too!

summerroll at 12:13 a.m.

previous | next