Monday, Dec. 18, 2006

I hate hospitals.

This past Saturday, we had our annual "Holiday Family Event" for our kids, which is basically a dinner and a talent show. Not many of our students wanted to particpate in the show this year. This was unusual because most of our kids are drama queens (guys and girls alike) and crave attention. But I guess most of the DQs graduated this past year and we're left with shy ones.

But the talent show ended up going very well, even if we only had about 6 performances. To round out our list of performances, Al decided that he wanted to come up with a skit that included all the adults. We formed a "band": The Russian Dialectics Narangas 1976 Revival. We all had instruments and played OutK@sts "Hey Y@". And when I say play, think Partrige Family playing. No one could play their instuments, well no one but me. I played mini cymbals, and I was awesome. We even had a glitter thrower who walked in front of us, and as her name suggests, threw glitter and confetti for our band to walk on. We broght down the house. Or got laughed off stage, but whatever.

It was a good night. That is up until one of our more accident prone students ran into a column and smashed her face up something good. That landed Al and myself in the ER waiting room for the next 5 hours. Fun times, fun times. I think we started going a bit delerious due to a combo of hungriness and tiredness.

We kept getting dirty looks from the other visitors because we couldn't keep still and we couldn't keep our mouths shut, and we were telling stupid jokes, and just being obnoxious overall. It's usually something our kids see at the end of the day on Saturdays and they think we're insane. Well the entire hospital thought we were insane, and at one point, I thought the W@ckenhut officer was going to kick us out. But I saw him trying not to laugh at the things we were saying.

Long story short, they finally released our student at 4 am, after we brought her in at 9 pm. It was quite a long day. Yet I still couldn't sleep past 8 on Sunday Morning.

Ah well. That was the most excitment I've had in a while. Not to mention watching a woman puke up 5 lbs of gunk that smelled like chicken noodle soup. Excitement I tell ya! My life is growing quite pathetic.

Happy Monday!

summerroll at 1:38 p.m.

previous | next