Saturday, Feb. 26, 2005

Be Careful Riding a Bike in Miami

I just saw a cyclist get taken out by a car on Bayshore Drive. It was kinda surreal. The cyclist and the car were going the same direction. I was going the opposite direction; I had a perfect view. When the light turned green, I noticed the car opposite me turn his whell to the right to straighten up a bit before he took off. Then out of no where, I see the cyclist fly up and over the right side of the hood and land in the grass.

I was shocked and I didn't really know what to do so I sat there in my car with my hand over my mouth. Other drivers got out of their cars to attend to the cyclist. He looked fine, probably more shocked than I was. I figured the other people had their heads on straight and that they would know what to do and after about 3 minutes, I continued on my drive to work.

And to think, I decided to go down Bayshore last minute.

My heart and head are still beating rapidly. Stuff like that just gives you a sense of mortality even though he probably wasn't hurt much at all. It just really scared me, especially since I feel that when I die, it will be a car crash.

Hopefully I'll calm down enough to work with my kids today. I have 15 minutes before they start coming in.

summerroll at 9:37 a.m.

previous | next