Wednesday, Mar. 02, 2005

Rambling

I�ve been in such a good mood lately and it shows. My skin�s feeling good, my hair�s feeling good, my body�s feeling good, and I�m feeling great. I think it�s a combination of things: working out on a regular basis, ignoring annoying people at work, and of course Gus. It�s nice for once to not have anything in your life going wrong.


My nemesis at work, Jay-W, is pregnant. I�m an extremely happy because that means that in about 6 months, I won�t have to see her or put up with her shit for 3 whole months. And I am willing to wait the 6 months just for three months of peace.


I�ve been practicing my bass 3 hours a day almost everyday since I bought it. I�m pretty good, or at least I think so, and I think I�m ready to now learn the bass line to an entire song. The only problem is figuring out what song I should dedicate myself to. Gus wants us to start a band. He �plays� keyboard (ha) and he says he�s going to learn acoustic guitar and that when I pick a song to learn, to give him the same song to learn to. That way, our band will have one song ready to play.

5 months ago Gus was dedicated to starting the first air band. Yes, you heard me right. An air band. You know, with air guitars, air drums, etc. Yes, he has a few screws loose, but that�s part of the reason I like him so much. Hopefully our real band will take off. I don�t expect us to actually play for people or make money. Maybe just for our friends. And right now, I�m the only one who actually plays an instrument. And a band with just a bass is not a band. It�s just a girl playing a bass.


Gus and I went out for drinks late Saturday night. He came from his high school�s Senior Banquet and picked me up around 1:30 am. We went to a couple bars and just had couple drinks. It was really nice because we talked and talked. We talked about everything and about nothing. He�s the only guy I have ever been with that makes me want to have a conversation with him. And he gets all the crazy things I say, even if he thinks they really are crazy. It�s nice. I know I keep saying that but it is. It�s nice to feel that way about someone and to know they feel that way about you too.


One of my students posed this question to me yesterday: If there was a pretty baby laying next to an ugly baby and both of them started crying, which one would you pick up first? She thinks that everyone would pick up the pretty baby first because everyone favors good-looking children over ugly ones. I�d never really thought about it before, but I guess it�s true. I told her I didn�t know which one I would go to first. I would probably leave the room because I don�t like kids anyway, especially screaming ones. But she does make a valid point. Cute kids have a much easier time through life. I think it�s subconscious that we as humans are drawn to pretty things. Look at how some of us choose men. We go for the gorgeous ones even when we already know that he�s an asshole. But the nice smile and pretty eyes and full lips blind us. Eventually, we see the ugly below the surface. But that�s the way of the world.


I�ve rambled on enough for now. I have work to do since I really didn�t do shit when I was here yesterday. I will attempt to be productive today. I swear.

summerroll at 10:47 a.m.

previous | next