Tuesday, Mar. 08, 2005

Nothing Important

I had a pretty good time this weekend. Work on Saturday was the usual, except I just didn�t really seem to care about what was going on. Saturday night, I went out with Gus and his married friends. Actually, his married couples. He has four close friends, 3 of which are married, and the other one is thinking about getting married. We were with 2 of the married couples and the most likely soon-to-be married couple. It�s strange hanging out with all of them because they�re all newlyweds and still in that real lovey-dovey stage where they have to be in constant physical contact with each other all the time. Plus, I just met most of them a couple weeks ago, so I�m not too comfortable around them yet. The one couple that I�ve known since last summer is cool, though. They�re the ones that tell Gus all the time that he needs to keep me around because they really like me. I�m glad they�re putting in a good word for me.

Saturday afternoon, I bought my plane tickets to Bolivia. A whopping $661.00. It�s pretty cheap considering I�m bought the tickets 5 months in advance. I wanted to wait another month or so to buy them since I�ve had so many expenses lately due to doctor�s and dentist�s visits, but I couldn�t take the chance that the prices would increase, because I really couldn�t afford anything over $700.

I�m excited to see Morgan. We haven�t seen each other in about 15 months. It�s hard because I want to call her all the time, but it�s $1.49 a minute to Bolivia. So instead of drunken phone calls, she gets drunken letters that I write at 3:30 in the morning after I get home from the bars so that I don�t forget anything. When I look it over in the morning, the writing is all sideways and slanted and some of it is actually in gibberish, not English. And I send it to her anyway because it�s funny.

My blisters finally went down, allowing me to resume practicing my bass. I read that I was using the wrong finger form, so I had to basically relearn the song again with the correct form to avoid further blisters in the future. Everyone tells me that I have to develop calluses if I want to be good at the bass. So, so long pretty and soft fingers. I must give you up to accomplish my dream of being a badass bass player.

I don�t really want to be at work today. I should have called in sick. I do have Friday off though, so this week will be pretty short. Lately, I have just not wanted to be here. I think it�s getting time for me to move on. But, anywhere else I go, I won�t get paid as much as I do here. Especially not on a Marine Science/Biology degree. Unless I become a teacher. Yeah, right. And I can�t go back to school yet because I haven�t saved enough money. So I guess I�ll be here a while longer, unless a great job or some money miraculously falls in my lap.

Off to pretend like I�m working.

summerroll at 10:43 a.m.

previous | next