Wednesday, Mar. 09, 2005

I've Had a Long Night...

I had to drag my sorry ass out of bed this morning. I don�t even now how I�m functioning today.

Yesterday afternoon, when I got home, I started to follow my normal routine:
-say hi to my kitty, Ginger
-use the bathroom
-change into my workout clothes
-go to the gym

Instead, as I was changing, a voice in my head said, �fuck the gym. Put on your pajamas and plop yourself onto the couch.� So I said, �fuck the gym!� and I put on my pjs and got under my fleece blanket on the couch. I watched TV for 20 minutes, and then I was out cold until 8:00 p.m., just in time for American Id0l. What a waste of an evening. And I didn�t even practice my bass.

I feel like such a slacker.

After AI, I was so bored that I started going through my phone book in an effort to find people to talk to. Of course, I either couldn�t get in contact with anyone or they were too busy to talk to me. Fuckers.

So I forced myself to watch the season finale of Real W0rld. Gawd this season sucked.

By the time 11:00 rolled around, I was so bored, yet wide awake (thanks to my afternoon power nap), that I decided the only solution was move from the couch to my bed, turn off everything but the TV, and wait for my body to bore itself into sleep.

At 11:15 my phone rang. It was Gus! He was at a bar on the beach with a friend of his. They were watching a band that had a girl bass player and he thought of me and had to call me to tell me about it. (Awww!!!) It made me feel good. We chatted for a bit and he told me he couldn�t believe he let his friend talk him into going out on a school night. I told him not to worry about it and to have fun. We hung up, I was so happy that he was thinking about me and that he called me.

At 11:44, my phone rang again. Again it was Gus. This time he asked what I was doing and if I wanted to meet him at the bar since they were going to be there a while. I was wide awake and bored so I said sure.

Apparently, it was bad 80s hair band night, and his friend was there to see White Li0n, who I have never heard of before in my life. I get to the bar and off course I�m the only black chick there (besides the bouncers � and they were guys) and I was getting all these weird looks, and I was one of the few normal chicks. Most of the girls were groupies. Well, I should really say women, since most of them were between 35 and 47. They looked like they had just jumped into a time machine that was backstage at a Bon Jovi or Whitesnake concert in 84 and ended up on South Beach in 05. They had the big hair with lots of product (and I�m not just talking the females here) and the skanky 80s outfits including the boots and the skintight waist-high jeans (and I�m not just talking the females here) and the tied shirts. It was incredible. The only place I�d ever seen people dressed like that was on old MTV/VH1 clips.

Needless to say, I had a ton of fun people watching last night. When White Li0n, the main attraction, finally got on stage, Gus and I decided to give them a chance in hopes that we would recognize at least one song. Song after song was unknown to us and song after song blew hot chunks.

Finally, after an hour of torture, we decided to get food. The time is now 3:00 am. We went to this really cool diner that had like 300 items on the menu. I think it was Joe�s or Jim�s Diner or something like that. Plus, the food was really pricey. Only at the Beach would a diner have the prices you would normally see at a steak house.

We ended up having cheeseburgers, which were so damn good, especially at 3:30 in the morning. Gus and I talked and talked about everything and nothing. I even told him stuff that I�ve never ever told anyone, including Morgan, who knows the most about me out of everyone. It was cool.

I finally managed to convince him that he should take a sick day, because he would not have been in any shape to teach at 7:00 in the morning. Especially since he is EXTREMELY grumpy if he hasn�t had enough sleep.

After our dinner (or breakfast) he dropped me off at my car and we parted ways. It was a nice evening, but getting home at 4:20 am is not conducive to waking up at 8.

Like I said earlier, I literally rolled myself out of bed instead of taking a sick day myself. And I�m glad I came in because I got a lot of stuff done, which means I won�t have much to do tomorrow (I�m taking Friday off � Yay for comp days!!).


My summerroll at 2:26 p.m.

previous | next