Friday, Apr. 15, 2005

Happy Hour Will Solve All My Problems

It happened again last night. I went to bed and woke up at 3:30. When it happened this time, I decided to try and fool myself by not looking at the clock when I first woke up and then shut my eyes. But after 15 minutes of twisting and turning (but it felt like hours), I finally gave in and looked to see that it was 3:45. I felt defeated. So I lay there until the sun came up and then turned on the TV to watch The Pretender.

The show is not very realistic. Jarod ALWAYS catches the bad guys. I know he�s supposed to be a �genius who can become whatever he wants�, but come on. Plus, why do the bad guys always have large, weekly deposits in their bank account directly from the head of an infamous drug cartel ring. Have they never heard of money laundering?


I went to B@bie�sRUs last night to buy a gift for my coworker�s shower. It took me 20 minutes just to find something that was actually on her registry. I ended up getting her all these cute little hooded towels that had like different animal faces, like a bumblebee or a turtle, for the hood. And I also got her the matching washcloths and also a cute wash mitt that has a turtle on it. I dropped like $54 dollars. But, I really like this coworker, although she doesn�t work with us anymore. When I first started working her, she was like my mentor, she taught me how to do everything and she treated me like an equal even though I was significantly younger than everyone else. Plus, she knew what I was going through with Jay-W, because she wasn�t one to be taken in by Jay-W�s shit and she always called her on it. Regardless, I�m happy for her even though she always said that she would never have kids (she had a teenage step-son). How quickly things change.


Last night, Gus and I went to a Thai restaurant for dinner. I ordered curry chicken and potatoes. I expected it to be spicy and it wasn�t at all. It had a sweet taste to it, which I think was pineapple. But, it was still really good. He had some teriyaki beef dish named, �You, the old man, and me.� Yeah, I don�t know where they got that name. It was incredible, although it did remind me a lot of beef jerky.

The great thing about this restaurant, in addition to the food, is that we got our entire meal 5 minutes after we ordered. I thought that was weird, especially since we didn�t order any of the specials. The last Thai place I ate at, it took 45 minutes to get our food. Maybe they keep all the dishes frozen and microwave them to order. My chicken was a bit chewy.


Last night before I woke up at 3:30, I was having the strangest dream. It was like one of those bad 80s horror movies. I was in it and Gus was in it and all his married friends too. Plus, there were a bunch of other teenagers (I say other, because for some reason we were also teenager) and some little kids and 2 �adult� figures. The place was set up kind of like a camp cabin, and all the room had bunks. I remember everyone was having lots of sex. Then, one of the dogs, I believe it was a ratwiler (sp?), went outside and got attacked by something. A couple of hours later, he came back to the cabin and was scratching at the door to be let back in, and when someone went to open the door, it changed into a werewolf or something. Then it went on a rampage throughout the cabin. Of course, all the people who had sex died. I think I woke up right when Gus and I were hiding from the werewolf in a closet. We�d had sex on one of the bunk beds, so the stench must have been on us, because it was closing in on us cowering in the closet.

It was strange. Must have been the curry.


My friend that�s getting married has a wedding website and I finally visited it yesterday. It was really cute. It had both the bride and groom�s life stories and it also had each of their versions of how they met.

I did find out that the dress code for the wedding is formal. I only speak in terms of jeans, tank tops, and flip-flops. All I know about formal is that the guys have to wear a tux. Simple. Now, what exactly does it mean for the gals. Do we have to wear a black dress? And, does said dress have to be long? And I guess flip-flops are out of the question, which means I have to buy new shoes as well. Unless�I buy a long dress, long enough to cover my feet, allowing me to wear flip-flops. We�ll see. I hate dresses. And I hate shopping for dresses because I can hardly find ones that fit me well, or that fit me in a way that I like.

I also found out that several of my friends are invited, but they are part of the wedding party. Which means that I definitely will be sitting with strangers during the wedding and reception. That�s gonna suck.


I get to leave work early today. Yay! Yesterday, I was here till six talking to some of my kids and helping them study for their pre-calculus test. After I leave here, I�m going straight to M0nty�s for Happy Hour. One of my college friends is moving to San Francisco this weekend, the lucky bastard, so this is supposed to be the M0nty�s to end all M0nty�s. Or so they�ve been saying all week. I can�t really get too crazy because we have an early fieldtrip tomorrow that involves a beach cleanup in the hot sun while battling mosquitoes and lazy teenagers. But, one never knows what�ll happen at M0nty�s especially when you start drinking at 4 and end around 9. Maybe I�ll try to escape a little earlier, because knowing them, they�ll try to carry on the drinking till about 1 am. With my lack of sleep, I�ll probably become exhausted after drinking for 3 hours.

summerroll at 1:41 p.m.

previous | next