Tuesday, May. 03, 2005

Couple Things I've Learned

In an attempt to go to lunch, I was outside for all of 45 seconds only to run back to the building looking like I had just fallen into a pool. Where the hell did all this rain come from?


Man. Time is flying today. I looked at the clock and it said 11:04; then I looked again after what I thought was bout 20 minutes and it said 1:30! What the hell?


I went out and got myself a 2nd job. It�s an internship with an environmental consultation firm. What�s great about is that I�ll be doing the exact same thing that I did when I was a research assistant at the grad school. Plus, because I can only work part-time, they�ll let me have 24/7 access to the building so that I can come in when I want. And since it�s a private firm, that means I�ll get more than $8.50/hour.

What�s also great is that they loved my resume so much that there is a possibility that my internship could turn into a full-time position. Hell Yeah! That means that come September, I might finally break free from this current torture. And I�ll be doing something that I enjoy and find interesting. And I won�t have to put up with the numerous assholes here anymore. And I�ll hopefully end up making a good chunk of change. I�m keeping my fingers crossed.


I received my credit rating back. It was pretty high, so I was pre-approved for a house loan of $130k. That�s great except that most 1/1s in Miami are at least $145-150. Plus, my mom is insisting that I get a two-bedroom and insisting that I move all the way to bumfuck south Florida (the area right before you hit the Keys) so that I could afford said two-bedroom. She is out of her goddamn mind. I don�t even know why I�m acting surprised that she would try to take this over. I have spoken to the real estate lady once and I told her exactly what I was looking for and in what areas, and my mom keeps telling her the opposite. It is pissing me off. I just feel like telling her to keep the $3000-5000 that she�s offering me to help with closing costs so that I can be in control of what will be my house and my mortgage payments.


Things I learned this weekend:



It is now time for me to dry off.

summerroll at 5:04 p.m.

previous | next