Wednesday, Jun. 15, 2005

Wasting Time Like it was Free

I�m at Job #2 now. It�s 6pm and I�ve got 2 more hours to go. Yesterday when I was here, I did absolutely nothing job-related. I did work on the report they asked me to do at home though. For some reason, I just can�t write when I�m sitting in an office. My words only start to flow when the TV�s on and I�m sitting on my couch or on the floor with a bag of chips/cookies next to me. Most of the work I�ve done on this report has been at home.

A couple of minutes after I got here, one of the other interns came in to check her email. We�ll call her CS. This girl is on such a fucking power trip. I think she thinks that since she was the first intern hired and she started working before all the other interns, that she is the �Queen� of interns. I started working here less than a week after her, but because I�m not full-time, she�s worked on a lot more of the project than I have. Regardless, I�ve been doing this type of work for 2 � years, so I do know more about it than she does.

The second day I was here, CS decided upon herself that she would �teach� me how to use the computer program that the company is using to analyze photos. I�ve used the program for months. So, not only was she �teaching� me something I already knew how to use (after I told her that I was somewhat familiar with it), but she was also talking to me like I was dumb. Man, if there is one thing I hate (okay, there are a couple things, but this one is high up there), it�s people treating me like I�m dumb or that I don�t understand because I don�t say anything. I speak up when I have a question.

So after her whole spiel, I asked her a question I knew the answer to, but knew she didn�t know the answer to. Then I went on the computer and showed her, pretending that I was just trying something out because the program was similar to another one that I had used, and when it worked, she just said, �Well I didn�t know about that.�

And when CS found out that our supervisor wanted me to write the report instead of her, she said, �Why would she do that?� Then a couple seconds later she added on, �Not to mean that you don�t know what you�re doing.� I just looked at her, smiled while I called her a bitch in my head, and got back to work.

Just now, when she was here, she says, �Oh, I�m glad you�re here. I wanted to let you know what should be in the intro of your report.� Then she started to write a list for me. In my head, I was like, �I�m not dictating to you what to write in your methods section and you sure as hell ain�t my fucking boss.� The funny part was that everything she wrote down, I had already written about. And I told her. And she kept asking me if I understood this phrase or what she meant and I would say, �Yes. In fact, I already wrote about it/mentioned it in my paper.� Then I pulled up my 3 page report, and it shut her right up.

I know that I�m smarter than some people. However, I don�t rub it in their face or try to make them look stupid. If I think someone might not understand something, I ask them first, just in case I�m wrong. I just don�t assume and start telling them how to do stuff. When you do that, it just makes you look like an asswipe. Especially when the person knows how to do it and knows how to do it better than you. I�m glad that I will only see her for a couple minutes, if at all, when I come in Mon-Wed. I get here at 5, or maybe a little later depending on the traffic/weather, and she leaves at 5.


I got my �The Last Dragon� DVD this morning. I am so excited. I�ll probably watch it tonight when I get home. I love that damn movie. Sho-Nuff.

I remember when I was a sophomore in college, my roommate and I wanted so badly to watch this movie. It was like a late night craving for a favorite food. We seriously searched every movie rental place within 20 miles of our dorm, and not a single one had it. I�ve even tried looking for it in stores and couldn�t find. My coworker, Mike (the one with the crush on me), and I always talk about �The Last Dragon� because he has a couple of the songs on his IPod. Last night, he was rummaging though a box of crap in his dad�s closet to see what they could thro away, and what did he find? An unopened �The Last Dragon� DVD. When he called me and told me, I said, �It�s been there this WHOLE time.� His answer was yes. For the past couple months, we�ve been discussing finding it and buying it and watching it, and he�s had it, unbeknownst to him.


Monday night, Gus and I had dinner. He was in a bad mood. He didn�t have a good day riding along with the firefighters (he says they�re all dickheads and they had him there for longer than 12 hours) and when he got home he found that his puppy peed in the house and he had to clean it up. He�s having a lot of trouble training Hal (short for Halitosis because he has real bad puppy breath). He�s biting everything and he�s not waiting till he gets outside to use the bathroom. And since Gus now has those 12 hour ride-alongs 3 days a week plus EMT class twice a week, he�s not spending the time with Hal he needs to in order to train him properly.

While at dinner, I was telling him that my family will have moved completely to Atlanta by July. I joked with him that I�ll need someplace new to do my laundry, thinking that he�ll say, �You can do laundry at my place once in a while.� Instead he said, �Well, if you get your own place, you won�t have to worry about that.� Asshole. That was my way of saying, invite me over more often, and he just shot me down. Ah well. I�ll just believe that it was his bad mood talking.


Alrighty. I�ve effectively killed one hour. One left to go. I�ll use this one to do some actual work.

summerroll at 7:00 p.m.

previous | next