Wednesday, Jun. 15, 2005

Stupid People Hate

On my way home from job #2 last night, I had to stop by a T-mobile store to pay my bill (or else it would have been late, since it was already over $100 [a 30-minute call to Bolivia], I didn�t want to take the risk of getting an additional fee). I was in line for almost 40 minutes. I don�t know if this store just happened to be the convergence of a group of dumb ass people or what. The poor T-mobile associates looked like they were ready to murder someone.

First there was this 14 year old and her mom. I believe the mom was buying the daughter a brand-new super expensive phone. As the guy was ringing up the order, the girl asked, �Excuse me, where is the antenna?� The guy, with out looking up, told her it was an internal one. She said, �Okay. But where is the antenna?� He said again, �It�s an internal antenna, inside the phone.� Then the girl demanded, �but where?� He finally stopped what he was doing and said, �It�s INSIDE the phone.� I know that there was a �you dumb bitch� under his breath or at least in his head. Cause I was thinking it.

Then, there was the girl in line behind me. I believe she was about 17 or 18, but she looked old (it was obvious that she smoked a lot of cigarettes and a ton of weed; she reeked and she looked/acted extremely high). She was on the phone with someone telling them that she had stayed out until 3:30 in the morning. Her mom had gotten mad at her because when she spoke to her mom earlier that night, she told her mom that she would be home in 20 minutes and she didn�t end up coming home until 8 hours later. So her mom had to watch her baby all night. This girl had the nerve to say to her friend, �can you believe she was upset? I know right. Ha! She�ll get over it.� I can only imagine what her friend was saying on the other end. So while she boozing it up and smoking 12 joints (her words), her mom sat home waiting for her to come in and take care of her child. And she didn�t give a fuck. It must be nice to not think about anyone else but yourself, especially when you have baby. What the hell is wrong with people?


So everyone�s talking about this MJ, not guilty verdict. I don�t know if he did or not. With OJ, I was positive that he was guilty (and I met him a couple of years ago in Eckerds and my heart was in my throat), but I just not sure about this case. The reason I�m conflicted is that I know that some people are more concerned about money than anything else. In the case from 1992-1993, I believe that if it had really happened, the family wouldn�t have settled. I�m sorry, but no amount of money can make it okay for someone to molest/rape your kid. If I was a parent, I would go bankrupt taking the culprit to trial over and over again until there was a guilty verdict and they were put away or punished in some way no matter how rich or famous they were. With this case, I have to question the intentions of the mother. She�s heard of the previous accusations against MJ, yet she still lets her children visit him, UNSUPERVISED. Plus, her credibility was completely shot when they found out that she had tried to use her kids to scam other people/companies. Credibility means everything in high profile cases. Go ask Mark Harmon (I think that�s his name). He knew OJ was guilty, but he knew the evidence they had was possibly not enough. He fucked around with the evidence and ended up fucking up the trial because of it.

And the sad part about all of this is that there will still be people who will let there kids spend the night at MJ�s, just like there will still be women who want to date OJ. Too bad stupidity is one thing we can�t cure.


That�s it for now. Time to go train our new mentors for the summer program. I�ll write more tonight at Job #2.

summerroll at 8:59 a.m.

previous | next