Wednesday, Jul. 06, 2005

Dumb Bitch

If you want to read an entry about my Independence Day that somehow spirals into some really depressing shit, go here.

During our 6-week summer program, every grade gets to go on an overnight trip. The older the kids are the longer the trig gets to be. For instance, the freshmen leave for one night, two days and it progresses up to 4 nights, 5 days for the seniors.

This week is the sophomores� turn. They were supposed to leave yesterday morning and get driven down to Key Largo on one of the yellow school buses. Which was fine except for one thing: the bus was never reserved. Guess who was in charge? None other than my evil work nemesis Jay-W. Not only that, she also decided that she wasn�t going to show up yesterday and would instead meet the group down in Key Largo, which she wouldn�t have gotten away with if our boss wasn�t on maternity leave. So because she wasn�t here yesterday morning, guess who got stuck trying clean up this mess. Yep, it was me.

I called the bus company and asked if they were sending a bus. I had no clue that there were no arrangements made. As far as I knew, I was told everything was already set up. Guess who got bitched out by the bus company owner? Yep, that was me again. So there is no transportation and the group is supposed to be in the Keys by 11:30. I had to pull my supervisor out of his meeting with the president of the Museum to try and figure out what was going on.

My supervisor said that there never was supposed to be a bus, but that Jay-W was supposed to rent a 10-passenger van. He called her up, after asking me why she wasn�t at work, and she told him that he was responsible for ordering the bus, not her, because she sent him an email about it months ago. Months ago.

Now, if you are the chaperone/planner for a trip, shouldn�t it be your responsibility to double check that everything is set up the week before? But there�s just too much common sense involved in that.

Needless to say, our supervisor said he didn�t receive any such email, but that he would take care of the situation. Which, he did.

But you know what? Less than a minute after she hung up with our supervisor, Jay-W called the mentors, the people working under the 2 of us, going on the trip and told them, �I just wanted to let you know that none of this is my fault. It is all [supervisor]�s fault.� Damn it lady. Can you not take any responsibility for fucking up?

And this morning, I just found out that she didn�t turn in Requisition form for a cash advance that I need by Friday. Even though she said she did. Although I just found it sitting in her mailbox. It was supposed to be turned in 2 weeks ago! Now, again, the responsibility falls on me. Dumb Bitch.

Anyway, the good news about all this is that hopefully, by the end of the summer, she will be in another department. Both of our supervisors complained about her to the big boss, the VP of the museum. And since, they aren�t allowed to fire people for some reason, they devised a plan to move her to another position in a different department, far way from us. The VP approached her and asked her personally to apply for the position, so Jay-W thinks she�s a big baller now since it�s coming from the top. Little does she know that it is all a ploy. And if she leaves, then I can continue to work here. Most of my problems and my hatred of this job was coming from her and the fact that I got stuck doing more than my share of the work while she sat on her fat ass. Plus, I�m getting another automatic raise in September. Don�t get me wrong. If I get offered another job for the same amount of money (but hopefully more) in my actual field, I�m outta here. But I�ll wait and see what happens.

Now I�m off to another lovely day of supervising teenagers.

summerroll at 8:25 a.m.

previous | next