Saturday, Jul. 30, 2005

Featuring: an Appearance by Big Nimble

Our summer program is finally over. Now is time for the clean up. Conveniently, Jay-W has left for her vacation today, sticking Nande and I with the responsibility of getting everything taken care of. I wouldn't expect anything less from her.

Interestingly enough, our big boss, Jay-F, asked me last night if I could handle running/coordinating our program on my own. I looked and her and said that I've been doing everything on my own for the past year.


After the program was over, we headed over to Happy Hour to do final grades. We do this every year. We figure that we should be a bit tipsy when assigning grades. Some of them should be thankful.

When we initially got to Happy Hour, our waitress was MIA. I had a couple of friends that worked the bar, so I walked over there to score a couple free drinks/discounts. As I waited for my drinks, who should I see sitting literally 10 feet away from me but Big Nimble.

I saw him look away as I turned my head to look. I was so amazed to see him because I haven't seen him at all in the past few months. Of course, he ignored me. So I got my drinks and walked back to my table.

The way both of our tables were set up, we both had our backs to each other. I could not stop turning around to look at him or to see if he was still there. And I noticed that he changed his position in his booth; he was now sitting to the side (feet not under the table).

I thought I was pretty sure that I was over him. And I still think I am. I mean, I used to think about him every day> I woke up with him on my mind and went to bed the same way. But in the past 7 months, I really haven't thought about him at all, unless I was in a place where I knew he might be, like the bar where he works.

I think the problem is that he's the first guy that really got to me. The first guy that I thought, "yeah, I can have a real relationship with him." The other guys weren't interested in that, but neither was I. There wasn't any spark with them. Yeah, they were cute or funny, and I had a good time with them, but I never wanted to spend time with them, to hang out with them and talk about stuff. And even if I did, and I did, they just never got what I was saying.

I loved talking to him. He's one of those people that don't want others to know that he's smart, so when I really started talking to him and getting to know him, he suprised me. And I like that. And he was the first guy to hold my hand and to cuddle with me....and then it all got blown to hell.

I was nice to see him though, even though I think he still hates me. But his age is definitely starting to catch up with him. He gonna be 32 in 2 weeks (actually, on the day I leave for South America - and why I still know that, I don't know). It makes me sad thinking about him only because I know that we could have had something special, despite the age difference. But we'll never know now, so I stop talking about him...that is until the next time I see him.


Nine 1nch Nails is coming to S. Florida. I want to go. Badly. But no one else I know likes NIN. I have gone to concerts by myself before, but I know that I would definitely be out of place at this one. So I need someone else ot be out of place with me.

When I went to see Korn a couple years ago, my friend and I stuck out like a sore thumb. It was a goth invasion. Not to mention that I was one of a few black people there (and all the others were all goth). My friend and I were just in Jeans and wifebeaters. Very out of place with all the black and chains and spikes and what not.

And it'll be a similar crowd at NIN. Not that I have anything against goths. I listen to a lot of the same music, but I'm just not into the fashion or lifestyle. I guess It's just a way for many of the kids, especially down here in the land of sun-kissed blondes and perfection, to do something different.

I guess my new mission will be to convince someone to go with me.

summerroll at 8:59 a.m.

previous | next