Friday, Sept. 23, 2005

Things could change, things could go your way

I got my new car last night. I love it except for two things:

1. It's an automatic. I hate automatic cars. OK, I don't hate them, but I prefer sticks. I don't know, I just feel like I have more control over the car when driving a stick. I feel like automatics make the driver lazy because the driver doesn't have to pay attention to the car as much. Plus, driving a stick makes me feel like a race car driver since that was once a childhood dream of mine.

2. The previous owner of the car was a smoker. There is that old, stale smoke smell. It's not overpowering or strong, but I can still smell it all the same. I fucking hate cigarette smoke. So sometime soon, when it stops raining for a few days, I'll have to air it out and Febreeze it.

All in all, I'm happy with my purchase, even though I am now officially broke. I have enough money to pay all my bills, but I'll just have to cut back on the bar tabs and the impulse buying at W@algreens/CVS. Whenever I go into one of those stores, I always end up spending over $40. That's gonna have to stop.

While I was waiting to sign all the paperwork on my car, I was sitting inside the showroom at the V0lvo dealership. Where all the expensive, 2006 V0lvos were. There was a guy testing out one of the cars. First of all, he had a bald mullet: bald on the top, center of his head, and long in the back. I watched him as he fiddled around with using the tiny joystick to adjust the sideview mirrors. Then, he asked, "how do I adjust the rear-view mirror." The salesmen came over and showed him some button on the door to push. I almost yelled for him to use his hand to adjust the mirror that was less than 2 feet from him.

These cars today are making people so lazy. Do you really need an automatic rear-view mirror? I understand the need for automatic windows and doors and all that: You can't reach them when you're driving. But the rear-view mirror? Come on now. No wonder there are so many unhealthy people in America.

On that note, now that I have a car, I can resume working out at my gym. I feel i got a good start with walking to and from work the past couple days. It's not a bad walk at all and I'll probably do it more often when the weather cools down. Plus it'll help conserve my gas.

Time for work.

summerroll at 9:15 a.m.

previous | next